KasiaTravels on a budget: Solo backpacking - on a budget - in Latin America. (Part 3: “The story behind my slow travelling and chosen destinations.”)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

KasiaTravels on a budget:
Solo backpacking - on a budget - in Latin America.
Part 3: “The story behind my slow travelling and chosen destinations.”

My Dear Adventurers and Travelers!

I hope you will find this post interesting and worth your time. Let’s start! :)

DSC00582 (Copy)A.jpg

The idea behind my solo travel:

Before leaving Europe I knew only a few basic things. Most importantly, I felt that I don’t want to rush. The idea to visit as many countries/cities/monuments as possible was never my thing! Contrary to, for example, my older brother who is willing to, relentlessly, run from one touristic attraction to the other! Like a little kid who is in a toys store for the first time. ;) In Rome or Paris, we always had to split at some point, because he was pushing to see yet another church, and I wanted to quietly wander around the neighbourhood.

IMG-20150501-WA0000a.jpg

I need to take my time. Immerse. Stay with locals whenever it is possible. I ‘m trying to understand local people, what drives them, what kind of problems they are facing, what makes them happy. It sounds like a cliché, but I do believe that this is what travelling is about. Visiting stunning examples of architecture or being exposed to wonders of nature are priceless. But, at least for the moment, I believe that a contact with another human being, different from you, can enrich me the most. This is why the idea of so-called “slow travel” is close to my heart and my understanding of what traveling is about.

Honestly, I sense I would love to live each year in a different country. Maybe one day I will feel it is the right time to do it.

Decisions need to be made!

P1080826 (Copy) 2.jpg

To be honest with you I couldn’t sleep well for the first week. I think I was constantly questioning my intuition. I was feeling constant anxiety. Pretty unhealthy if you ask me... Why did it happen to me? Because for the first time I was able to travel for such a long period of time, and the world has so many incredible places to offer. Additionally, I do not like the “second best”, I always try to make the best possible decisions. So I felt pressure. I even started to compare myself to other people, thinking that someone else would design more interesting travel. Absolutely stupid of me! Quickly I realised that I cannot continue like this. That if I miss an opportunity to experience something great, I will do my best to return one day! That I need to let my intuition speak! That things happen, they only need space!

I knew I wanted to start in Costa Rica. However not to be in Costa Rica itself but in order to learn how to surf. I am aware that it sounds crazy, mostly because Costa Rica is an exquisite destination. But I had my priorities and general ideas how I want to spend my time. So I have read a lot of surfers’ forums, and this destination seemed the best for a beginner like me.

I also knew I absolutely have to visit Peru.

My third prerequisite – I wanted to spend some time in a place where salsa is on every corner of the street because I love to dance. The choice seemed obvious – Cuba!

1549534_10152880650908302_5128543148127164671_n a.jpg

I had a scratch of a good plan. Peru and Bolivia for 6-8 weeks. Than Cuba for a month. From Cuba to Costa Rica for a month.

After some further ‘research’ I discovered that it’s advisable to explore Machu Picchu (in Peru) from May onwards, when the rainy season ends. So I needed to change my plans and reschedule the journey! Luckily I still didn’t have my tickets.

First of all, I reversed the directions and now I have been planning to start from Costa Rica and finish in Peru.
I have also made my mind and have chosen to skip Cuba and visit Colombia instead. That was an extremely hard decision for me to make! Cuba, a home of Salsa dance and music. One of my most desirable destinations. But I felt that Cuba becomes too much of a pain to me. It was too complicated to find a good and not very expensive connection from Costa Rica. Furthermore, from the beginning, my idea for this travel was to do as much couchsurfing as possible. And in Cuba couchsurfing is forbidden by law!! I mean if the police find out that a local person is hosting you without a licence, he/she may go to a prison. I calculated how much money I can spend there and I knew that unfortunately I simply cannot afford to pay around 20-25 $ per night for 30 days just for the accommodation.

DSC00941 (Copy)a.jpg

As a result, I started to read about Colombia! And I knew right away that I will enjoy it so much! The country is so diverse and has so much to offer. In addition, it recently became much more accessible and safer. And guess what? The country is well known for its love for salsa! So I decided – 30 days in Colombia!

Brazil! Oh, how I wanted to visit the whole country. The same with Argentina. Unfortunately, those two countries are extremely vast what makes them difficult to visit by bus. The distances are simply too immense. And traveling so much by plains wasn’t an option this time. I made a promise to myself that I will return as soon as possible and spend at least 5 weeks in each country in order to explore it more profoundly!

The last but not the least – Bolivia and then Peru, for at least 6, maximum 8 weeks.

This was the initial plan, I stuck to it more less. ;)

11149292_10205468760774001_1585391744201213916_n a.jpg

More less, because at the end I have spent 1 week in Nicaragua (Costa Rica’s neighbouring country), 10 days in Rio de Janeiro in Brasil (you see, I just couldn’t stop thinking about that city!) and 10 days in Buenos Aires + Cordoba in Argentina (which was not a good decision money-wise, but I also simply needed to experience it).

Sending joy!
Kasia

Sort:  

great picture. Would love to visit it as well - but so many nice places and so little time and money.

You are right! That 's why we need to make choices. And my decision wouldn't neccesarily be yours😅

Looking at your pictures your decision must have been well considered and wise ;-)

Kasia , mowisz po polsku ?

Great Pics thank you please keep up the great work enjoy reading

Thank you for your comment!:)

awesome pictures!!! I will be following to check out your next destinations :) have fun and take care... ohh yeah keep me "posted" :)

Great to hear that!:) thank you for your kind words!

nice trip. Enjoy your travel

Beautiful place

Yes, Latin America is beautiful!!

your photos are so attractive to made a trip to these location. You are passing a great time with the nature and enjoing the beauty of nature. I miss it as i am a busy man of my industry.

Thank you! I wish you'll find some free time and energy to be able to travel more:)

Thank you ☺

Również uwielbiam salsę! Chodziłam nawet kiedyś na kurs salsy! Niestety w mieście którym mieszkam obecnie nie ma takich możliwości :/ Ale podróży nadal zazdroszczę. Sama ukończyłam filologie hiszpanska i zawsze marzyłam aby zwiedzić wszystkie kraje hiszpańskojęzyczne :) Saludos!

Salsa w Polsce ostatnio robi się bardzo popularna, więc może coś się niedługo otworzy! A jeśli nie to pomyśl o weekendowym kongresie tanecznym😁 zdecydowanie warto!!

Dziękuję! Jak tylko moje maluchy trochę podrosną, Matka pomyśli trochę o sobie i z pewnością wybierze się na taki kongres! A co! :) Pozdrawiam gorąco

Luar biasa perjalanan yang begitu banyak mengorbankan segalanya... Namun untuk hasil yang memuaskan tentu hal tersebut bukanlah sesuatu yang sangat dilakukan karena belum tentu setiap mampu melakukannya seperti anda....

I love traveling myself and I sincerely hope I'll visit the places of ma dream someday

I keep my fingers crossed for you! :)

Awesome article and pictures. keep it up! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59