Super Excited to Head to Tokyo this Weekend!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1973.JPG
Akihabara, the electronics mecca of Tokyo. (All images in this post from wikipedia)

Gonna be a whirlwind trip--just overnight--but am pumped all the same.

What will I be doing?


  • Purchasing a brand new computer with money made from Steemit, directly w/ Bitcoin!

  • Roaming the streets like a mad dog in search of geocached Bitcoin using the Takara app!

  • Filming/Photo-ing the sights and sounds of Shinjuku, Akihabara ("the world's largest electronics marketplace"), and Shibuya!


IMG_1974.JPG
Akihabara at night.

If there is anything you would like to see, or for me to investigate, fellow Voluntaryists, Steem-heads, and digital documentors, please let me know. I'll do my best to write/vlog/post about it (as long as it is somewhat interesting and doesn't involve me dressing up as Sailor Moon ).

IMG_1975.JPG
The GiGO Sega arcade.

See you in Tokyo.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Man that's great, show us electronics stores, i love that stuff :)

Have fun! I was in Tokyo last month! Shibuya was too much fun.
Wish I would have known about the Takara app. That sounds awesome. 👍

I dare you to try Nakano Broadway instead of Akiba. It's like Akiba in a single building… it was actually Akiba before Akiba was Akiba (in terms of being a nerd mecca) and has the original Mandarake in it (though there are several of them there now - one for books, one for figures, etc). It's easier to get to if you're already in western Tokyo too - take the Chuo west from Shinjuku, 北口, through the covered shopping arcade, and there you are.

Just remember to take the stairs to the other floors. The ground floor is rather pedestrian, pun partially intended.

Might do this. Thanks for the info. 👾👾👾

I was just in Narita not that long ago. Japan is a very nice and clean country.

It really is.

Sweet. Must be pretty sweet to buy directly w/BTC. As there's no telling when I will be able to go in a store and use btc I wanna hear more about that and the geocached btc!

So beautiful , I wish to one day go there !!

Dont forget to hit the backstreets as well, all those little shops with random computerparts are so much fun to see!

That's a great idea. Cheers

Sounds like a good time in store for you!

I've used the Takara app here, but it was really buggy, I should try it again!

They always have such cool electronics that seem to come out there before available here. Give us an update or show us some cool gadgets!

NICE! Can't wait to see all the pictures you are going to post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66