The westerlichttoren, Burgh Haamstede, The Netherlands.

in #travel6 years ago

At this time of the year, I spend many days in our caravan in Burgh Haamstede.
Burgh Haamstede is located in Zeeland, the southwest of The Netherlands. It is close to the North Sea beach.

Despite it is spring in The Nethelands, today it seemed like summer. So I took my bike for a ride to the beach. On my way, I passed the lighthouse of Burgh Haamstede, the westerlichttoren. Because of his colors you can see him from far away. It is painted in a red-and-white spiral.

20180419_113802.jpg

The westerlichttoren is designed by L. Valk and it was built in 1837. At 53 meters above ground and a light stand at 58 meters above sea level, it is one of the tallest lighthouses in The Netherlands.
A stair of 226 steps leads to the top. Unfortunatally, the lighthouse is not open for public.
The lighthouse is unattended.

20180419_143432.jpg

The lighthouse is switched on and off automatically by a light sensor. A sailer can recognise the light by its characteristic: group flash 2+1.

After a short stop at the lighthouse, I continued my way towards the sea.

20180419_112015.jpg

What a great day.

Sort:  

Well I'll be damned!! What a nice place :P This is my home provence and I love the sea. Also Burgh Haamstede is perfect for mountainbike threw the forest. Is this you're home town?

No. I am from Rotterdam. Stay here untill the end of august on the duinhoeve camping. It is great overhere. Diving, cycling, walking, barbecue, seals at the beach and much more.Burgh Haamstede is great. Don't tell everyone otherwise it will be to bussy overhere.

Lol, in my opinion it already busy dear. Our eastern neighbours visit Zeeland all year long. In high season my home town dubbles twice the size with tourists. I'm glad you love it! Enjoy and don't get used to the sun just yet :D

Spring is finally getting a kick along here (in Western Canada) also !

That was last week. Today it looks like autumn. Strong wind, rain and only 9 degrees. What a difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61