Chester, UKsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel5 years ago

IMG_7985.JPG

We spent yesterday in Chester which is in Cheshire, the only county between Lancashire, where I had spent all of my trip so far, and Wales.

This is a beautiful old city and the only remaining completely walled city in Europe. I can't wait for you to see all of the photos when I start posting the ones from my camera.

A few folks with my surname were Sheriffs and Mayors of this city dating back to the 15th and 16th centuries. My grandfather thought our family came from either Cheshire or Wales and that makes sense too, as the most populated parts of Britain were those two places when the Romans took the first census.

Dinner was pizza and wine on the second floor of a restaurant overlooking the street and the Chester Cathedral which we visited right afterwards.

IMG_7986.JPG

References

Chester, Cheshire and Beyond

Images

Photos taken with my iPad in Chester, UK

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

Haven't been there in years, and its not so far away. City walls all around it as I recall. :)

Oh, my, you are in Manchester too. Why aren't you posting more about your city?

I'm not exactly in the city, more 30 miles north but I do the odd occasional post about it.

Your profile says.. 'Kanata, ON Canada' yet your posts are about the NW of England, confused?

lol. I combined a wedding in Poland and a visit in Manchester. I have been here since April 2nd but my trip is almost over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09