My love for public transportation

in #travel6 years ago

Hated by most people, but loved by the ones that are dependent on it



Trains, busses, trams, airplanes. Ways of moving from one place to another. For some people the only thing that comes to mind is delays and being cramped up in a small space with too many people. For others it is way to finally get some me time and just stare out of the window.



Pexels





Not everyone’s public transportation looks like the one seen above here, but mine currently does.


And that is such a nice thing to realize. Going with Swiss trains and busses is really such a peaceful experience compared to how it sometimes works in other countries. The Swiss trains are ALWAYS on time (you know clocks are one of the core things here in the country right), properly air conditioned train cars, and also even cool arts thingies as dining tables when you have the transalp or the Voralp express. Been in the train is just a chill session here. And because it is such relaxed you just want to stare outside of the window seeing the mountains and the lakes passing by.

Now I understand that this is not the deal when you are travelling on a daily basis that you will have a different perspective of this.



And I also know that for instance in Holland trains are one of the most hated things because they ‘always’ have delays, and they ‘always’ get cancelled due to too hot weather or to cold weather. But maybe, just maybe...this is also so in other countries. Or in those countries the trains are more expensive because they have to be more invested in.

Take snow as an example. Yes, we all know the Swiss trains are still going when it snows. But do you realize behind the scenes how much that is of an investment to make that happen in terms of heated tracks and those sorts of things. And that also when the weather is really bad, the trains also get cancelled here? But maybe people here are a bit more prepared for that, because they are listening a bit more to the weather and reacting to it.

Lets be honest Dutchies, the trains aren’t too bad





Used to different standards

In the end it is all what you are taking as a standard. Back on the island of Sint Martin I was dependent on these type of minivans as only form of public transportation. They would some general main roads around the island and not at any set time. Just when they would feel like it. Often the gears were broken and you would be driving with the bumpy sound of a van driving in first gear all the time. Also more than often they would be overcrowded and I’d say that even my totally hurricane wrecked car was in better condition as that most vans were. Maybe it is just a matter of what you terms are of what you are used to.

Or for what you choose to be satisfied with.





Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee

Sort:  

thank You so much. I am so glad to see more People agree

I never really use the train for transportation. Simply because of the fact that my traveltime is way longer if i go by train. I tried once to work , I thought I would start working in the train but that just isn't something for me. I got to distracted to quick :)

Or for what you choose to be satisfied with.

How very true. I think that people who travel extensively have a different viewpoint than those who do.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Swiss public transportation is generally excellent indeed.
There is almost no reason to own a motor vehicle if you live there all the time. You get the card for a couple thousand and can use all the trains and buses as much as you want. So easily, no hassle, go shopping in a completely different city on a frequent basis if you like. It's great!

I got the 50% card, also just perfect!

And yeah I live in Luzern centre, so I must sat there is enough to do transport wise. If I can leave the car (which I also dont even have) to avoid that conjested traject of asfalt....->any time

WOW!! Really Beautifull!! :O

My favorite is travel by train. Even dislike being locked up inside a car longer than one hour.

Train anytime, anyplace, destination anywhere.

Aha a fellow train lover!!!

Yes cars make me insane..I really dont understand how anybody would be capable of driving towards work and hour and back every day

(i even took the train from being all the way to eindhoven...im a lover hahhha)

When there is a double-decker, I choose the upper layer to travel, hahaha.

The hectic of car traffic would be hell for me, information overload. Locked in any jam would cost me my stomache, it would be nerve wrecking and heart stressing.

Yes, I guess I love to travel by train. 😊

Same here. NS hasnt disappointed me this weekend in Holland! Only relaxation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71