Where2Eat on Tinos Island - Greece!

in #travel6 years ago

Apart from its rugged natural beauty, lovely beaches, whitewashed churches and immaculately clean villages with lots of twisted olive trees and roaming mountain goats, Tinos island is where I’ve been served some of the best food of any Greek island I’ve ever visited!

215 (Large).jpg

Actually, after so many yearly trips to Tinos I’ve come to the conclusion that the islanders really understand their local produce and manage to use that know-how to make dishes that fit the island’s mood and allow the produce to shine.

On this year’s trip, the Dio Horia roadside tavern, located in the mountain village with the same name got my top marks together with the Sto Kapaki café/bar in the village's square where one evening my husband and I enjoyed drinks served with an old fashioned meze and a plate of delicious cold cuts and local cheeses (see photo above for cold cuts & cheese plate & photo with meze below).

221 (Large).jpg

The awesome looking cold cut plate included a variety of cheeses, including a rare one called To Kariki; a strong tasting yellow cheese that is matured in a pumpkin for at least six months and got my taste buds so excited that I immediately wanted to buy some to take with me back to Athens.

As this cheese is not so widely available, I was told to go to O Boras butcher’s shop in the center of Hora (the island's main town) where, if lucky, I would be able to purchase this cheese!

337 (Large).jpg

It took me two trips into town and a long chat with my new friend, Giannis Thodoris, to get a reasonably large piece of the cheese. I didn't mind doing this as I thought it was time well spent, as apart from the cheese, I learnt a lot about other local products and superb quality local meats and sausages, some of which we had already enjoyed at he Dio Horia tavern.

354 (Large).jpg

Not only was the food at the Dio Horia tavern really tasty and authentic but the drive up to the village is lovely and the view truly spectacular. From the tavern’s terrace you can see all the way down to Tinos’ harbor while munching on freshly and well prepared traditional Greek tavern food.

Dio Choria -View  (Large).jpg

My favorites of the array of mouth-watering food were the outstanding cheese pie and the meatballs together with a simple green salad that had just been brought from a local garden . . . served with crumbled local cheese.

378 (Large).jpg

379 (Large).jpg

375 (Large).jpg

I was also told that the slowly oven braised goat meat is tremendous when available, but having had so many encounters with cute goats that roam around the island, I think I would have had a hard time consuming a dish including that ingredient!

To end the meal we were offered, as usual on the house, a choice of sweets but opted for citrus spoon sweet that was also just perfect!

371 (Large).jpg

For some more favorite places please go to my website blog post: https://www.cook-eat-go.com/single-post/2018/07/29/Where-2Eat-on-Tinos-Island

Just writing this blog post is making me wish that I was back on Tinos island . . . . enjoying great meals . . . often with terrific views!

Wishing you all a Happy Summer Week-end!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-03T13:33:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 39.00/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @karitas! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71