The ‘Gorges’ Grand Canyon

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

C52BF191-0C32-4B79-8878-4E38D5465B4B.jpeg

Today we are going to move on to the continent of North America to talk about the Grand Canyon. Let me just start off by saying that no picture can ever do justice in helping to describe the beauty and feeling of this overwhelming rock formation. However it definitely is a fun place to take photographs, even manipulative ones as you can see throughout this blog. It is definitely well worth the journey to see this incredible place.

EE06D583-CE20-4046-953D-4072CDDBADC9.jpeg

The Grand Canyon which was officially named in 1919 is located in the state of Arizona, America. It has carved itself into a spectacular rock formation over a period of well over 1 billion years. This is due to the shifting of the tectonic plates, which over the years has become a dramatic display of colourful steep limestone Formations, alongside the Colorado river, which is placed aesthetically below. The different colours on display portray the millions of years in which the Canyon has formed over time. The highest point is located at Point Imperial on the Northern Rim at 2400 meters above sea level, whilst the deepest point of the Colorado River is 6000 feet. With such high elevation and cold climate in the winter months it is known to snow, which makes this ever so wonderful place even more picturesque.

F7489A8D-4EEE-484C-8A47-70AA1B354F4A.jpeg

Before the invasion of the Europeans, the Grand Canyon was once inhabited by a group of Native Indian Americans known by the name of ‘the Puebla People’. For many years these people worshiped the land and made many pilgrimages to this holy site. Although many people still classify it as a spiritual place today, it is now set up as a tourist attraction while still up-keeping its indigenous influence. Although full blood Native Indian Americans are non-existent today many cultural clans, such as the Havasupai, Paiutes and the Navajo people still inhabit this sacred piece of land today.

BA98737B-B5DE-45C5-8B4C-7A78E6E2EA26.jpeg

Although I didn’t see much wildlife when I was there, I am guessing due to the cold weather, the Grand Canyon is known to have over 370 species of birds, with 90 different types of mammals and 40 types of reptiles making this visually pleasing place their home. Not only that, there is known to be over 2000 species of plants, some native to the area. Due to its dramatic formations many species not only depend on the Canyons landscapes and plants for protection against Predators, but offers an abundance of shelter and food too. What a perfect place to call home.

EBF89C29-519A-4135-9E17-16C299B1B271.jpeg

I was very fortunate to be able to take a helicopter ride over the Canyon. And I tell you what! I think I would have deeply regretted it if I didn’t as the views on a helicopter compared to standing on the edge were overwhelming. As the helicopter approached the edge of the Canyon, the first glimpse out of the window gave me butterflies. Nature can seriously spoil us with such indescribable beauty. Don’t get me wrong though, taking a walk around the rim or even down the Canyon is just as breathtaking, as the view spreads right (and past) the horizon, making millions of visitors stop in their tracks in awe.

C9386A0D-298B-4A56-A77B-A5B8C179043F.jpeg

2168D108-A0FB-45EC-BAF1-9B38814AD830.jpeg

7BBF3E5A-6A68-4D78-81BF-597D4282088A.jpeg

9D36E02E-1E32-4057-8D35-F58F4700A7C5.jpeg

3930403E-992D-42E0-B6F4-D5F38D08ED9E.jpeg

I managed to spend 1 full day exploring the rim (with a helicopter ride in the morning) and spent two nights in a cabin in the National Park itself. The cabin was a short 5 minute walk to the rim. As an adrenaline junkie I loved getting right up near the edge of the rim, you must admit the pictures do look great!

758E72E9-51F4-4229-970A-B3F94FC7F5FF.jpeg

0EBA6A67-28BD-4265-A345-D7428A208A2D.jpeg

4101FC4F-9748-44AF-AAA0-95E64C8E777A.jpeg

52C2A95E-D812-4272-804F-CBBDED3C1CF0.jpeg

As I went in the low season the sense of tranquility was refreshing, especially as I was on a Contiki tour. For those of you who don’t know, these tours are rushed with minimal opportunity to take time out for a length of time. So the opportunity to take some ‘me’ time to explore was welcoming. As it was wet, due to the melting of the snow, I deemed it too dangerous to attempt any steep declines as one wrong step and you could have a long way to fall.

6A5D805E-FFA8-484D-8A6F-B7BA9D7D4732.jpeg

As I went on Contiki tour back in 2011, 7 years ago from writing this post, some of my experiences now are a bit of a blur, or was it the alcohol? But the Grand Canyon had such an overwhelming effect on me that I remember this day as if it were yesterday. It is definitely one of my favourite places in America, if not the world. With it being so vast and deep, it is no wonder that I could literally just sit in one spot for hours looking over the majestic scenery. Time and space really do wither away as your senses are heightened and everything feels as one. Even the most stressed out individual would find peace and comfort in this place.

4CE123E4-9CBA-4DCF-B2A9-619963610F02.jpeg

Unfortunately I didn’t get the opportunity to do the sky walk, however this is still on my bucket list. I’d also like to hike to the bottom and take a ride along the Colorado River in a kayak. Have you been to the Grand Canyon? I’d love to hear about your experience below and maybe a picture or 2 as the beauty of this place can be captured at many angles portraying an array of colours. It definitely is a masterpiece of nature.

1DBF3D01-E762-4EED-B679-770507AF928F.jpeg

Sort:  

It's really beautiful....but it's not worth your life ! Why you risk your life to take such dangerous photos.... Just be careful next time @karliesadventure

Haha I didn’t... There are massive ledges below. I got the photos taken so you can’t see them. So it looks like i am but I’m not really 😂✔️👌

This post has received a 1.64 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @karliesadventure.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 3.67% vote... I was summoned by @karliesadventure! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received a 8.40% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @karliesadventure. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Thank you @karliesadventure for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 3.73% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

You traveled a lot!!! that's so awesome!! for these pictures I can tell you have a fun personality!!! cheers @karliesadventure!

I love to travel. Thank you, yes I am a little quirky 😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62