That One Time I Went On a Road Trip With Strangers

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Sounds crazy I know, and I’ve mentioned that I went on this adventure in the past but never wrote about the trip itself. Finally, I have some time to sit down and write about the thrills of the week I got into a car with four strangers and didn’t tell anyone I was leaving. Well, I told people I was going on a road trip but they just assumed I knew the kids I was going with. Minus my best friend at the time, Aiden. He was supposed to tag along with me but his mom claimed that he’d get “mauled by a bear” and told him if he didn’t go she’d pay for anything he wanted for the rest of summer break. Obviously, he chose to stay home.

1F965B9D-9850-4F72-AB9C-AB5B22DE5AD3.png

Day One: Nerves

I remember exactly where I was when I got the text that they had arrived. I was still laying in bed hoping they’d forget I was coming all together. I got up, grabbed my stuff, and was greeting by the happiest family. A girl, the one who I had planned the trip with, her brother, her sister, and her sister’s wife. My nerves calmed down after finally meeting them and seeing how nice and normal they looked. I guess I become trusting too fast. I said my goodbyes to the people at home and got in the car.

First stop, Charleston, South Carolina.

69129DF8-F1F7-4DE3-9CC7-8F75C7D6992F.png

Charleston was more for people who liked to wine and dine, but the large farmers-market-type of shops they have in a row was quite interesting. My question is how do people decided, “Man I want to sell soap.” I guess if you have a passion for soap making why not sell it. The market did sucker me out of $7 on a cute little flower anklet. Sadly, I lost it later in the trip.

After Charleston we headed to Myrtle Beach which was more my scene. I have an obsession with arcade games. After visiting one of the million Ripley’s Believe it or Not museums we spent a few hours jumping from arcade to arcade and then ending with a walk down the beach before heading to our first campsite. That’s right, we stayed in free campsites the whole trip. You know what free campsite means? No showers. That was fine though, before the trip we made sure we each had a gym membership or at least three of us did so we could use the gym showers on the way to our next campsite.

D5C54EAD-1286-4E92-A385-FD52150C6479.png

685C174D-D810-4E3D-AA7E-A94219503B64.png

Ending the day at campsite number one I sat on the floor of our tent with a can of cold Chef Boyardee ravioli and then it was off to bed.

Day Two: Probably my Favorite Day

Up at 7, tent packed and on the road by 8. The rain had been off and on all night and most of the morning. For breakfast I had another can of ravioli. Super healthy and delicious of course. Today we were headed to Hanging Rock state park in North Carolina. Stopping along the way to pick up a friend of the family I was with. As soon as we started our hike the rain began again. Us being as adventurous as we are said screw the rain and kept going. Even as it got worst. About 2 miles into it we stopped in a small little cave, more like just an overhang, and tried to wait out the rain that was more than a sprinkle but not a complete storm. Listening to the thunder echo throughout the mountains was crazy. After about 15 minutes we decided it wasn’t stopping so we continued on, we had already made it this far. The top of the mountain was amazing. We had climbed above the rain and it was like we had stepped into the clouds. They aren’t as puffy as they look. We weren’t exactly safe as we stood and jumped around the wet cliff, but the pictures we got were cool. 😅

5E484E49-3034-4322-8988-679D92F3F342.jpeg

0699C4FD-200F-4AA1-ACB8-1E29F1A2D4B1.jpeg

The rain below even cleared after a few minutes.

F9D56C27-D18E-4125-B375-0B6B52F3882E.jpeg

Once we were safely back down the mountain we attempted to swim in the river close by but the lighting started so we moved on to our next location; Linville falls.

5CC172B2-E24E-4FB1-8D8E-8CFACF2DF275.jpeg

0596F137-E305-4507-871C-DC53D45B7F4D.jpeg

E2505D6C-13EB-4905-AB3A-EC4B3293DBFC.jpeg

Such a beautiful place. At this point we planned on going to the next campsite but our clothes smelled T E R R I B L E so we settled into a motel where we could do our laundry and shower in the same place.

Days 3-5: Same Place Different Days

Boy, Tennessee is one of the most beautiful states I’ve been to. We spent much of our time in Gatlinburg going on various hikes around the area. Still off and on rain from time to time. On day 4 it had rained so bad we got evacuated from our campsite (we paid for these since we knew we were staying a couple days longer here). The river had flooded that bad so to make the best of our evacuation we decided to go on a hike that lead to a little waterfall. The waterfall ended up not being little due to the rain and the hike could not be completed. We are stupid though and of course, chose to go off the trail and scale down the waterfall.

A378CBF5-9D5F-40CD-84A8-334A9D5C1A97.jpeg

1ADF5EA4-BE72-48C8-A99E-618653CD8431.jpeg

687DF781-A86D-4830-8AFC-B557AC0F3F48.png

Day Six: I Will Go Back

Even though day two was my favorite day, the hike of day six was my favorite hike. Headed back down to Florida we stopped along the way at Yonah Mountain. The view was breathtaking, just look for yourself. I told myself once at the top that I will backpack this mountain one day. There’s a perfect halfway point ledge that you can camp on.

818FC760-E3F0-420D-B232-3A2AE82F6BDF.jpeg

37BFA92C-6252-4956-95F3-79BF2BF6F382.jpeg

We spent the rest of our day relaxing outside at the last campsite we’d stay at. Finally, taking another shower.

Day Seven: Oh No

Packed up and on the road by 8 once again. At this point though I was freaking out. Thoughts kept running through my head like, what if they pretended to be my friend only to trick me and kidnap me on the last day. That didn’t end up being the case obviously, but these nerves didn’t hit until we got in the car to go home. I ended up driving the whole way home, and wow was it a long drive.

As I drove, it crossed my mind what I had spent seven days with four complete strangers and it was by far the best experience I’ve ever had.
🌿⛰💚

I’m not saying that you or anyone should go on a road trip with strangers. I really don’t recommend it. I’m not sure what was going through my mind when I agreed but I had so much time to think during a rough time in my life and figure some things out. I spent maybe an hour on my phone total throughout the whole trip, which is why my pictures are bad and scarce, I do apologize for that.

So, maybe not with strangers, but I do recommend an off the grid adventure! No phones, all thinking, clear your head! ☁️

Sort:  

Brave girl! I’m glad you had a blast... looks like it was an incredible adventure! Also glad you made it back safe and sound!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62777.17
ETH 2951.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59