A Glance Through The Baydar Gate

in #travel7 years ago

The Baydar Gate (elevation 503 metres or 1,650 feet) is a mountain pass in the Crimean Mountains connecting the Baidar Valley with the Black Sea coast. It is enclosed by Mount Chelebi (657 m) and Mount Ckhu-Bair (705 m) and provides a view over a coast of Foros.
The old Yalta-Sevastopol highway (currently called Sevastopol highway), dating from the 1830s and seldom used today, passes through here. When the highway was completed in 1848, the so-called Propylaea were built of local limestone to commemorate the event. This Neoclassical gate offers scenic views, including that of the picturesque Foros Church set atop a 400-metre cliff overlooking the sea coast.

The other day me and a friend of mine Ksenia took a short trip to one of the scenic location on Southern Crimea called The Baydar Gate. I have never been there before and I was amazed by the landscapes that opened up in front of me.

Before we did get there though we decided to make a short stop and grab some food. One of the many popular spots in the area is a village cafe called Orlee Орли in Russian. It mainly features Crimea-Tatar cuisine.
Both of us got some chebureki and solyanka soup.

The food was pretty good and quite inexpensive that was nice haha. I do not usually eat chebureki or the solyanka soup, maybe once in a year or two, but since I am in Crimea I thought I might as well go ahead and taste some, since those are not the dishes you can get in the United States, and I don't really cook a lot of soups.

The Baydar Gate


When we got there, we decided to check out some souvenir kiosks, some of them were featuring sheep skins that we were looking at. Out of nowhere a sales lady ran towards us from across the street and tried to show us more merch, and then for some reason all of the other sales ladies started yelling at her, I guess they felt like she was trying to steal customers even though we were not going to buy anything. It was freaky in a way, so we just left haha.

Here is a panorama of the Black Sea, Foros Church in the middle and the village of Foros



Foros Church

The Church of Christ's Resurrection is a popular tourist attraction on the outskirts of Yalta in the Crimea, known primarily for its scenic location, overlooking the Black Sea littoral from a 400-metre cliff near Baidarsky Pass.
The church overlooking the village of Foros was commissioned by a local landowner to commemorate Alexander III's survival in the Borki train disaster (1888). The landowner's name was Alexander Kuznetsov; he was a tea trader from Moscow.
The church was consecrated on 4 October 1892 in the name of the Resurrection of Christ in a ceremony attended by Konstantin Pobedonostsev. The last Tsar, Nicholas II of Russia, and his wife prayed at the church on the day of the 10th anniversary of the Borki incident.

Check out Wikipedia to learn more


Here is me and Ksenia, selfie time :)

Another gorgeous view of the Foros Village

The road back to Sevastopol is quite scenic

I will see you again!

Sort:  

@kotturinn Those views are absolutely magnificent! They remind me so much of where I live in Cape Town South Africa - Really out of this world!!! I am actually going to be doing a post on some of those views either later today or tomorrow (depending on how energetic I feel lol) I will tag you so you can take a look :)

Thank you and please do! I will be happy to take a look :)

Thank you @kotturinn for sharing this part of your journey with us! For me this is a new "rabbit hole" to travel down and discover. I have never been to this part of the world, but thanks to you it is now that much more appealing! Hope you will post more like this in the future, very informative and entertaining.

@gringoloco

Hello kotturinn... Your tour of Bayda Gate is very interesting... as we knew a lot from your article bout this beautiful place in Crimea .... the food is also looking good... when you told us everything like about sales lady and then coming , yelling of other sales ladies ..... It took us to the place where these moments are happening ....Its your great skills of writing that we even know these kind of thing and moments ... As you have told us in your previous post about tiny buckets....That a lot of cars riding around with tiny buckets hanging down.... So these are too interesting and specially I like and enjoy these things too much.... And I feel that I am in the place where these all things and moments are happening... I saw you in the pic for the first time as you don't share your pics... Its really great and you are so beautiful like your beautiful posts.... and I think more than other girls on this planet... have a great time...

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Thanks for finding yet another post of mine to be interesting, I am happy to know it helps people to learn more about different spots on the planet!
Have an awesome day too :)

Hi kotturinn, I think your days at Crimea will be too busy, and I don't want to disturb you more... still want to know a little bit about your activities after Baydar Gate... When I get free and having a cup of coffee I want to read your post ... your all posts are alway interesting ....hope you will be in good health.... waiting for updates from Crimea........Have a best time....

Hi! I am going to try to make another post later today. I hope you have a great day as well!

That is really a cool place. They say in church you get closer to God,
I guess you get even closer if you place the church on top of a mountain! Either way the place looks like its worth visiting its stunningly beautiful!

If you believe in god, I suppose you might as well get closer to him being on a mountain, it is a cool spot to check out, the nature around is breathtaking!

It's definitely on the list of places I would like to visit now :)

Hope you can make it.

Вот это красота! Какое небо голубое :) Обожаю горы! Чебуреки и солянка выглядят вполне аппетитно, но уверена они на много вкуснее чем на вид.

Да, вполне недурно приготовили. Хотя я солянку не очень часто ем и вообще, наверное, пару раз в жизни ела, мне понравилось.

Як гарно! Дякую за приемну подорож) @kotturinn

Рада, что вам понравилось! Пожалуйста :)

Very beautiful view of his sister @kotturinn. I am @nurhayati From Aceh-Indonesia.

Nice to meet you @nurhayati. Thanks!

where live sister @kotturinn, may I chat privately?

I don't think it's necessary.

Wonderful work...thanks for sharing :)

Thank you @chrissysworld!

Wonderful pictures and scenery.

The food looked YUMMY and the landscapes are outstanding!

It was nice, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71168.96
ETH 3851.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52