The Top End

in #travel6 years ago

My week working in Darwin summed up in a few pictures.

DSC01192 2.jpg

On my first morning in Darwin I woke to the most beautiful sky. I could hardly believe my eyes, the colours were intense and so I made sure to eat breakfast on the balcony every morning watching the sky change colour.

DSC01276 2.jpg

Bougainvillea's were pretty common around Darwin they seemed to be everywhere I went. One night I was feeling hot and exhausted I wasn't use to the heat. I decided to make use of the hotel pool with the warm air on my face and the cool water around my body I floated on my back watching the stars twinkling above in the night sky and surrounded by the pink purple foliage from the bougainvillea trees that the wind had picked up. I felt like one of those girls you see in the magazines laying in a old beautiful claw foot bath surrounded by beautiful flowers floating on the surface... Sometimes I just let my imagination take me somewhere else to unwind.

DSC01319.jpg

The day I took this picture I remember I was a little stressed. I had so many appointments jammed into my day and a lot of driving to do. It was a strange feeling I started my day by the sea where it's busy and there is heaps of greenery then by lunch I was out in the middle of nowhere with only the hot sun, the red dirt roads, the dry landscape and a heap of termite mounds. There wasn't a car in sight though I did pass two road trains one flew past so fast the air from the passing truck popped my drivers side mirror out. It was like being in two different worlds in one day.

DSC01199 2.jpg

I finished up work early one afternoon and after speaking with the hotel staff I was told there was a nice place to watch the sunset over the water. The air wasn't as hot as I had experienced earlier on in the week and there was a slight breeze that swept across the grassed area and through the tall palms that lined the footpath where I sat. I was alone but surrounded by smiles and laughs from the couples, families and groups of friends sitting together. I stared off into the sunset lost in my own thoughts, not realising I had missed my moment to capture the sunset but I didn't mind I was just happy to be out in the afternoon sun.

This cheeky girl was sitting with a lovely couple just in front of me, she came over for a big pat and a little cuddle before the 3 of them and myself headed off.

DSC01224.jpg

I hope you liked the highlights of my week in Darwin.

Peace :)

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

The second picture is the kind of scene you expect to see in a Wes Anderson movie: a well-defined background color and then Bam! an object of psychologically opposite color. The contrast between the pale blue of the background and the magenta of the flower is simply great.

Thank you @nelsinho :) I'm not that familiar with the Wes Anderson's work but ill be sure to check it out :)

Yessss, join the clan of Wes Anderson hahaha, I'm kidding. Just watch "The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou" and you'll see exactly what I'm talking about ;)

That really is a lovely dawn view. I am lucky enough to have been living with balconies in SE Asia for a couple of years now and the sunsets are great, but the dawns are normally quick and not so exciting.

Lucky you to have such a wonderful place for a work trip. You palm tree photo at the hotel makes me want to find that lawn and lie down :)

Thank you @fitinfun I was very fortunate that week :)

this was excellent. Thank you for sharing your week and your thoughts here. I love the bit about being stressed and having many appointments jammed in the day...and that row of palm trees in the photo. the contrast of the sea and the termite mounds.
cheers for this!

Thank you @buttcoins I'm really glad you enjoyed it. Darwin is a really beautiful place it has a little bit of everything it seems.
:)

Resteemed - It’s a fabulous post @krystalfinnigan ❤️The colour in the sky in the first photo is exceptionally beautiful!!! Love the other photos too. Sunlight on those palm trees! 😍
These beautiful moments balance your stressy busy life fabulously. LOVE YOU AND YOUR WORK! ❤️🦋🌈💛🌴🍀

Thank you @sallybeth23 I appreciate that so much! Yes some days were a little crazy but there was so much to absorb around me and they were nice distractions. The landscape was different to home and once I finished work for the day it was like being on holiday almost, there was a tropical feel with the warm air and the main street busy full of tourists and music. I would love to go back and spend more time there. :) Xx

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=krystalfinnigan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=2hynql-the-top-end


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You really brought the beauty of Darwin into pictures. I especially love the picture with coconut trees. Everyone look so relaxed and enjoyed the day. It would be good after a long stressful day, just took a break with family and friends. I love the last cute doggy as well. He more like posted for you to took his picture. I enjoyed it very much.

Thank you @oliviackl :)It was a really nice way to end my day. She does almost look like she is posing but I can tell you I got lucky that puppy was a ball of energy.

@krystalfinnigan thank you for sharing your week and what happened I really liked the way you write very detailed everything fits with every word you write the photo when you were stressed by the bit of dating if you see relinda sometimes one stresses so much that one does not know what to do but it was a great choice that you made the photo shoot very beautiful what you wrote very perfect @ neymarth10

Thank you 😊 @neymarth10 I appreciate the kind words

The photo of the sky is definitely beautiful, eating on the balcony was a great idea!

How nice and relaxing it must have been, floating in the pool after a hard day's work, surrounded by flowers, watching the stars twinkle... It must have been a delightful experience!

That termite mound has a really interesting shape, its been ages since I last saw one, see this, I was like "so these thing still exists"? Lol. Of course it does, it doesn't seem to be going anywhere... Hahahah! I love how interesting and different these mounds always end up looking . I mean, these termites are quite creative... Heheheh! We should learn from them!

Those palm trees lined up these looks really stunning, that place definitely is a place to relax. And the dog, it looks so cute.

Well, your work week there wasn't too much of a boring one, you still had time to explore Darwin, taste the life there and capture really nice scenery , which is amazing!

Thank you so much @audreybits :) The pool was a nice way to unwind after a long day. I really enjoyed my week and I'm glad you liked my pictures.

It was a great week, you had no option but to enjoy it! Lol!

Hi krystalfinnigan,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie :) I really appreciate your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95