Montenegro | Budva | A Slice of Adriatic Heaven

in #travel6 years ago

Hello everyone! In this post I will tell you about one of the wonderful places I have visited and that impressed me in a special way. Montenegro, the pearl of the Mediterranean is situated in the south of the Adriatic. Although is a small country with a relatively small number of people, Montenegro has never stopped to surprise me with its landscapes and beauties. Montenegro's coastline is in some of Europe’s most spectacular seaside scenery. I was conquered by the majestic mountains which go sharply in crystal-clear waters, deep canyons, breathtaking beaches and ancient towns in rocky embrace. Montenegro proves once and for all that "strong essences are kept in small bottles".

1a.jpg

“When the pearls of nature were sown, on this soil an overflowing handful was gathered. The most beautiful contact between the earth and sea took place at the Montenegrin littoral.” George Gordon Byron

Because we did not find a direct flight, my husband and I have decided to go by bus.
From the moment we entered Montenegro until our destination, I enjoyed the road on the mountain serpentines with splendid views and panoramas of wild forests.

2.jpg

The cities on the Montenegro coast will definitely seduce you with their charm and the Mediterranean air. We stayed in Budva, witch is one of the oldest towns around the Adriatic Sea. This city has an old fortress, full of narrow and mysterious streets, bars, restaurants and limestone houses. There are several pebble and sandy beaches within walking distance. So during our stay in Budva we chose to spend time on each beach. And I can tell you that every beach is beautiful in its own way.

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

My favorite was the beautiful sandy beach Mogren. The road up there is a paved alley lying between the rock and the water, a real pleasure to cross it. The Mogren beach is divided into two parts and they are connected together by a short tunnel into the rock. What else can I say? I was speechless. This beach is protected by a wooded hill with pine and oak trees.

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

On the way, before we reached Mogren beach, we saw the bronze statue of a ballerina performing a graceful dance as she gazes out to sea, a symbol of Budva. We have heard that the sculptor made this monument, inspired by the local legend of a young woman in love with a sailor. The groom did not return from a voyage. Every day, the bride came to the shore and watched the waves in the hope that the beloved would return. She died, being faithful to him. This is where tourists make many pictures.

10.jpg

For a more secluded bathing, we headed to the small island of Sveti Nikola with a taxi-boat from Budva’s seafront. Sveti Nikola Island is covered by pinewoods and Mediterranean vegetation, it has a few beaches and a restaurant. The beach on this island is delightful, with turquoise water and deckchairs.

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

Let's see what we can visit in Montenegro. There are many tourist attractions to see in this country. We have chosen a one day cruise to visit the majestic Bay of Kotor and all its wonders. The first stop was at the Blue Cave. A unique feature of the Blue Cave is that the sun's rays greatly affect the color of the water becoming bright blue water. All those who wanted to see the cave went down in smaller boats that took us inside. This was a great place for swimming.

15.jpg

16.jpg

Continuing our cruise, at some point we saw a small natural island called Sveti Djordje. Nearby was an artificial island where we stopped and got off. This island is called Gospa od Skrpjela or Our Lady of the Rocks. This artificial island was built by the fishermen from Perast. A church was raised on the island in 1630. Inside is a lovely small museum full of historical objects.

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg

20.jpg

21.jpg

22.jpg

23.jpg

One of Montenegro’s breathtaking landmarks is the Bay of Kotor, which is the largest Adriatic bay between Montenegro and Croatia. The gorgeous Bay of Kotor is called Europe’s most southernmost fjord. Actually is made up of four connected bays which look like a butterfly shape as they stretch inland from the coast. UNESCO has listed the Bay of Kotor as one of their World Heritage sites. And the best way to admire this greatness is when you are on a boat like we were. The view from the sea was charming, towering peaks surrounding a rocky coastline with pretty waterside towns.

24.jpg

We ended our cruise by visiting the city of Kotor, an old fortified city with history-filled streets. Medieval architecture and numerous monuments have made Kotor a UNESCO listed “World Natural and Historical Heritage Site”.

Montenegro is a country that has left remarkable memories in my mind and soul, where I would come back with great joy at any time.

With love,
Krystine

Sort:  

How much sea, how much light and heat, great! Of course, I will support your wonderful post here. I hope for reciprocity ... although my reports are very modest ... Ah)

Hello @sinilga. Sure, I looked over your posts and I saw you have posted beautiful hand drawings.

Thank you) I paint badly, I write poetry better ... but I do not know English ... so I publish embroidery ...

This platform is constantly developing. I have seen many posts written in other languages that have been successful here. The most important thing is to write about what you like.

So far, no one is reading. But, I hope, everything is ahead) Good night to you!

Budva is a great place! Be sure to go to the island of St. Sebastian!

Hello @benidorm. Thank you for the advice. Also Benidorm is a nice place that I visited a few years ago.

wow Montenegro seems amazing. i think i should add it into my travel list

Hello @jacoboram. You will definitely like it. This is a must do trip, you will be very glad to see these natural beauties.

Amazing place! Very nice pictures!

Hello @martini-one. Thanks, I'm glad you like the pictures.

Awesome pictures Krystine! thanks for sharing.

Hello Daniel. Thanks, I'm glad you like the pictures.

Hello @visky. Thank you, I'm glad you like it.

Your wellcome @krystine , I wait for your next post
I follow you and please follow back
maybe we can be friends

Sure @visky, I will follow you. I looked over your posts and I have seen you have written a lot about Indonesia. Indonesia is a country I would love to visit.

You like my post ? Oooo thank you
I hope you can visit Indonesia, and continue to follow my next post

Great post! Awesome pictures and story! Enough of this winter, we want summer! :D

Hello @ares86. Thank you! Here where I am now are a few degrees minus. So it's good to remember the warmer days.

Hello @wiralhokseumawe. Thank you, I'm glad you liked my post.

I have visited Budva 5 years ago. Beautiful place.

Hello @fotonero. Yes, budva is one of the most beautiful places I've ever visited.

Wow, I will definitely need to put this place on my travel list. Thanks for sharing these gorgeous pictures.

Hello @ellemoz. Yes, this place impressed me most. It's a place worth visiting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66