Gems of the Mediterranean Sea - Amalfi (Part One)

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

7-Amalfi1.jpg

I am a big fan of Italy, I love their food, wine, history, music, arts, architecture and most of all their entire hedonistic lifestyle, "La Dolce Vita". This is a really wonderful country with all sorts of landscapes from high, rocky mountains to breath-taking beaches and seasides. I love walking on the ancient, cobble-stoned streets and watch locals sipping their coffee and discussing matters of life. I love the adorable markets and the tiny little shops as well as the checkered-clothed tables on the streets in front of restaurants...

Back in 2008, I had a chance to visit the islands and coastline in the Gulf of Salerno during an amazing trip with a small sailing boat. It was really great, one of the best excursions of my life. You have a totally different view of these little towns and villages if you look at them from the sea. It is really amazing how high they have built houses up on the rocks. Though it was a long time ago, I can still vividly remember the picturesque towns, the wonderful view of the horizon, the squeaking sound of the seagulls, the incomparable smell of salty water and the gorgeous taste of Italian red wine. I would like to share these memories with you in this series of posts. (Sorry, blame it on the winter that I became nostalgic and started to watch holiday photos today... 😊😊😊)



I have found this map here, it shows basically all the places I have visited and going to talk about in this series:
Amalfi-coast-map.jpg

Our first stop is Amalfi, which is part of the UNESCO world heritage. Looking at these photos, you will understand why. The adorable little town is surrounded by 1300 meters​ high cliffs. The view of the town is really amazing from the water, this first part I will be sharing the photos I took before arriving at the harbour... It is really awesome, like postcards from heaven, right?

7-Amalfipart2.jpg

SalernoSony 312.jpg

7-Amalfi4.jpg

7-Amalfipart4.jpg

SalernoSony 247.jpg

7-Amalfi6.jpg

We were very lucky having a very interesting combination of sunshine and before-rain-grey clouds. The lights were really peculiar and it was awesome to watch how the clouds were slowly descending from the hills.

7-Amalfipart6.jpg

Salerno3 457.jpg

Salerno3 463.jpg

SalernoSony 274.jpg

SalernoSony 292.jpg

Salerno3 455.jpg

Stay tuned, tomorrow I will come back with some snapshots from the wonderful little town on the coast!

Sort:  

You got a 97.97% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @ksolymosi!

If you follow me, I like Italy as well.. Your pictures are beautiful

Thanks a lot! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45