Gems of the Mediterranean Sea - Positano

in #travel5 years ago

SalernoSony 340.jpg

I am a big fan of Italy, I love their food, wine, history, music, arts, architecture and most of all their entire hedonistic lifestyle, "La Dolce Vita". This is a really wonderful country with all sorts of landscapes from high, rocky mountains to breath-taking beaches and seasides. I love walking on the ancient, cobble-stoned streets and watch locals sipping their coffee and discussing matters of life. I love the adorable markets and the tiny little shops as well as the checkered-clothed tables on the streets in front of restaurants...

Back in 2008, I had a chance to visit the islands and coastline in the Gulf of Salerno during an amazing trip with a small sailing boat. It was really great, one of the best excursions of my life. You have a totally different view of these little towns and villages if you look at them from the sea. It is really amazing how high they have built houses up on the rocks. Though it was a long time ago, I can still vividly remember the picturesque towns, the wonderful view of the horizon, the squeaking sound of the seagulls, the incomparable smell of salty water and the gorgeous taste of Italian red wine. I would like to share these memories with you in this series of posts. (Sorry, blame it on the winter that I became nostalgic and started to watch holiday photos today... 😊😊😊)



I have found this map here, it shows basically all the places I have visited and going to talk about in this series:
Amalfi-coast-map.jpg

I already wrote three posts about Amalfi (you can read them here, here and here) but now it is time to move on and visit the next beautiful town, Positano.

This was a place that we couldn't visit from the shore, we just sailed close and made a few photos. But even from the water, it looked really impressive. This is how we first got to see it:

SalernoSony 328.jpg

Salerno 126.jpg

Going closer it was very similar to Amalfi: the nice colourful houses run high up the hill.

Salerno3 563.jpg

I especially liked the colourful little bodegas at the beach:

Salerno4 014.jpg

We continued our trip towards Capri, so stay tuned, next I will be showing you photos of that! 😊😊😊

SalernoSony 338.jpg

Sort:  

Well done! Nice post!

Thanks !😊

You got a 65.86% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @ksolymosi!

Congratulations @ksolymosi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99