Sailing and hiking in Norway– my kind of summer

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

This summer I went sailing at Sunnmøre along the westcoast of Norway.

My parents are eager sailors, and ever since I was a kid it has been a tradition to spend the summers riding the waves and chasing the wind along the beautiful coast of Norway.


All blue as far as the eye can see.


Looking out the window from my cabin.

Favourite destination
I have been sailing in Lofoten, the Bergen area, the fjords of Hardanger and Ryfylke to mention some places, and they are all stunning. But I have to say that Sunnmøre is a favourite destination of mine. The peaky mountains, known as the alps of Sunnmøre, still have snow lying on the tops in July, and it is such a powerful feeling silently gliding through the nature in a little boat surrounded by all that ocean, those massive mountains and the flowers and rich nature near the coastline – the contrasts are magnificent.


Heading to Ålesund after having spent a night in Volda. I could spend all my days like this – with wind in my face, total silence and just looking at the nature.

Sail, hike, fish, sleep, repeat
The days were mostly spent sailing (of course), reading (I finished two books that week), eating (somehow everything tastes better when eating in the boat), fishing, sleeping (two naps a day – I can learn to live with that!), visiting family and hiking the mountains. It is so great running around in the mountains that head straight into the big, dark ocean – looking down at the hidden sandy beaches and tiny dots that are fishing boats spread around across the sea.


Views like this all day, every day please.


Scouting for fish

When we are at Sunnmøre, we always hike Muletua, which is a small mountain top by a little, super charming fishing village. I love that place, as it has such great views everywhere you turn.


Nature perfection everywhere you turn at Muletua.

The Runde treasure
We also went to Runde, which is known for its rich bird life and the Runde treasure. Apparently there are still gold and silver coins lying at the bottom of the sea, after a ship went down there in 1725. I didn’t go searching for coins, I was happy just seeing some of the treasure in the exhibition at Runde Miljøsenter. And also, I was all about climbing that mountain!


View from the lower plateau at Runde.

I can’t wait to go sailing again, and I am already planning my next hike – this time further south on the west coast from Sunnmøre. There are some great sights here as well, and I am so excited to strap on my hiking gear and just indulge in Norwegian nature yet again.

  • Live
Sort:  

For anyone who think a woman's place is in the kitchen, remember that's where the knives are kept.

That looks so fun. out of curiosity were do you get wifi or do you wait until you get home to post?

Nice photos.
Im from Norway, and i actualy like this post big time.
You show the steemit comunity, the real nice part of my country :)

Bra jobbet, liker virkelig det jeg ser, håper på mere tilsvarende poster fra deg i nermere fremmtid :)

Thank you very much - glad a fellow Norwegian thinks it's representative :)

Tusen takk - det skal du ikke se vekk ifra ;)

Nice ^^
Godt og høre, ser frem til mere fra Norge og flere nordmenn her :-)
God helg til deg '.'

Takk! God helg til deg også :)

Just post more! It is interesting. Thank you!)

Happy to hear that - thanks! I definitely will :)

Beautiful photos. Nice work with the selfie stick and the wide angle lens! Please have some krumkake for me!

Thank you! An I'll take two of those! :D

Beautiful shots Live. Norway looks like one of the most beautiful places in the world. I hope to visit one day. Thanks for sharing, will be watching your posts.

Thank you! I do recommend a visit =)

Nice blog. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you :)

Precious landscapes, enjoy them and happy summer

Happy summer to you too!

I would also like to do sailing and hiking to different places but my financial condition won't allow me right now. Being an adult is hard, you don't get allowance from your parents anymore but sometimes my parents pay for a holiday trip(lucky me haha). Nice post btw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77