Come Along [2]- A Contrast in Realities

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4916.JPG

I was very excited to finally embark on this adventure. I’ve never traveled long term like this before, but I knew being minimalistic was key. During this time I was living in San Francisco but had to get ready to move out because I wasn’t returning anytime soon. Months of working everyday straight to save money and slowly getting rid of all my belongings. My room was emptying out and I felt more and more liberated as I was getting closer to that moment where I’d be wandering free.

At the end I stood there with my packed suitcase and duffle bag, looked at my empty room with just a mattress on the floor, smiled and closed the door. One chapter was closing, but the doors to another was opening. I was excited to see what I could learn from the world and how much I could grow.

IMG_6846.JPG

First stop on my world adventure, Thailand “The Land of Smiles.” Once a year there is a beautiful celebration of light combining the festivals of Loi Krathong and Yi Peng. The skies and river become decorated with twinkling lights as beautiful baskets are floated down the rivers and lanterns released into the air. That has been on my bucket list to see for a long time and the main reason why I wanted to go to Thailand.

IMG_6849.JPG

Unfortunately King Bhumibol Adulyadej passed the month before I arrived. He was the longest reigning monarch in Thailand ruling for 70 years and very well loved by the people of his country. Thailand declared a period of mourning for one year, for one month after his death there were no celebrations. Even the bars and clubs of infamous Khao San Road closed early and music turned down. There was no certainty of whether the Lantern Festival would still go on.

IMG_5675.JPG

It was such a stark contrast to what was happening back home in America. I left just as the election for president was underway. When I landed in Bangkok the passenger in front of me, looked at his phone and declared...

“ Trump is President”

There was an uproar on the plane as everyone was trying to get data to read about the new change. In the airport TV’s were playing footage of America, showing protests and tension everywhere. I couldn’t believe what I was witnessing in my home country. I was very concerned about how life was for friends and family back home and actually dreading what would be in place upon my return, but now was the time to focus on what's in front of me.

IMG_5679.JPG

As I walked around the streets of Bangkok there were shrines dedicated to the king everywhere. Everyone was dressed in black to mourn for their king. There were so many things that were done to honor his lifetime achievements. Before movies, there would be a prelude where the audience would stand and commemorate the things he has done for the country. There were long lines to the Grand Palace, where the people would wait for hours to be able to say their last goodbyes to the king. Many tears were shed and the people I talked to spoke very kindly of their king. He was referred as “Our Father” which I found very touching.

IMG_5938.JPG

Looking at what I was seeing, at the same time knowing what was occurring back home was like seeing two possibilities of realities. Two leaders who were viewed so differently by their populace. It gave me a sense of longing or hope that someday we could feel that way about our governing body as well. Though I’m sure there are imperfections in both, maybe we could learn something to improve for the future.

To me the thing I love most about traveling is not just the beautiful scenery and historical structures, but the different cultures of people around the world. Their way of living, thinking and their values. The world is becoming more and more global everyday. Who knows how things will be in a hundred years. For now I want to enjoy the new found unity and celebrate the differences that make us unique. I hope we can learn from our neighbors and all grow to be a better society.

IMG_6080.JPG

Quite a serious beginning to my little story I know, but I feel like this was an important period in modern Thai history and very interesting to have been there during it.

Thanks for reading!

Xoxo SteemIt- Lilan


IMG_4884.jpg
For more travel stories and photography follow
@Lalilands


Instagram:Lalilands



Come Along
Pt 1- Follow Your Heart

Pt 3 - The Most Dangerous Market in Thailand

Click here to see a video of my trip
Come Along to the Philippines- Video


You might like

Chichen Itza - Sacrifices galore
Falling in love with Central Park


Sort:  

I love all picture here, but the one with the lanterns just fascinated me. It is so beautiful.

Thank you so much for sharing.

Thanks for checking out my post! The lantern festival was super beautiful in Thailand !

that was pretty observant of you. to quickly notice the stark difference between the leadership of 2 countries. hope America is doing better nowdays :/

#SteemitBloggers

Ahhhhh it's like watching a comedy show, but it's real life 😑

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lalilands to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Great travel adventure! Wonderful photos!

Thanks for reading @rwedegis ! Thailand is amazing =)

I hope you enjoy your travels. Seeing other cultures and parts of the world changes us in some many ways. Perhaps it should be a prerequisite for us all? And an interesting contrast that you noticed between how the two countries view their leader. Says a lot, I suppose.

Great photos, and story with it.

That would be great if it was! I think it makes you a more open, easy going and understanding person. Maybe all kids should go between high school and college. Pretty interesting the difference between the two leaders. Thanks for reading!

And thanks for sharing. Enjoy your travels.

Amazing post! Awesome pictures! I'd love to see all those lanterns. We got to witness a good bit during New Years in St.Marc's Square! Very cool. Safe travels, I'll be tuned in for more travel stories. I think this is a cool thing you are doing :).

Really? Its released there too? Thats so awesome! I'd love to see that. Thanks for reading my story. Glad you've decided to come along =)

Yeah. My sister and I keep wanting to get them to release over here in the States :)

I think a time is coming where all people will become global citizens and travelers, it's just a matter of time. It's that one step toward a better society I think. That last intersection evolution.
I loved reading your post.

Right? It will definitely be better. It'll be just us thinking of whats better for earth as a whole! Thanks for reading!

thanks for good post

Thank you! glad you enjoyed =)

Thank you for sharing your lovely photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68