Come Along [7] - Climbing A Sticky Waterfall

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5291.JPG

IMG_6309.JPG

“Don’t Go Chasing Waterfalls...”

Everytime I see a waterfall this song pops up in my head. But you just can’t help but chase waterfalls right? Such a beautiful sight to see. I love climbing up the sides of waterfalls and looking over the top, watching the water just cascade down over stones after stone. So mesmerizing and exhilarating. There’s a really special waterfall called Bua Thong Waterfalls that seems almost special made for these desires near Chiang Mai.

IMG_6196.JPG

IMG_6217.JPG

My buddy David was heading to Thailand for part of his Asia trip with his brothers Dominic and Anthony, so we totally had to meet up. That’s the best part of traveling right? Rendezvousing with friends new and old all around the world. I convinced him to head over to Chiang Mai for the lantern festival so during the day time we were looking for something to do. The concierge at my hotel told me about these sticky waterfalls that you can climb up and down on.

IMG_6284.JPG

Sticky waterfalls?

I was imagining something similar to playdough or glue but it sounded interesting enough so we hopped on the back of a truck and drove 1.5 hours north to our destination. Once we got there it was time to grab a beer to start our adventure!

Contrary to what I thought the waterfall actually goopy at all. The water cascades over limestone rocks. Because of their special nature no slime grows on the rocks and the porous surface makes it easy for feet to walk on without slipping. It almost feels like a dry surface so I stood on the edges of the water and peaked over with no fear of slipping over. It's the best!

IMG_6245.JPG

IMG_6270.JPG

IMG_6305.JPG

The waterfall itself isn’t large and powerful, but sits on an incline with a steady flow of water rushing down 3 tiers to the main river. It looks like a natural playground. Once we reached the bottom we headed back up.

  • Option 1 you could take the stairs flanking the waterfalls on the left side.
  • Option 2 climb right back up the waterfall with ropes to assist you.

I opted for option 2. I love being a monkey

Such a cool place, I felt like a kid again. If you’re looking for a different kind of waterfall experience I recommend this place.

Once we were headed back home to get cleaned up for the Lantern Festival~!


Thanks for Coming Along!
See you again in Pt 8
For the Lantern Festival!

Xoxo SteemIt - Lilan

IMG_4884.jpg


For more travel stories and photography follow
@Lalilands


Instagram:Lalilands


39B86BB8-19C7-453F-8D6C-05D06324EDFC.jpg

Pt 1-Follow Your Heart
Pt 2- A Contrast in Realities
Pt 3- The Most Dangerous Market in Thailand
Pt 4- Overnight Train to Chiang Mai
Pt 5- Ancient Chiang Mai
Pt 6- Baby Elephant at the Jungle Santuary

Sort:  

@lalilands,

Excellent post.

Btw, I think I was in my 30's when TLC came out with that song!

Namaste,

JaiChai

Haha TLC was the best it's a classic song! I always got to karaoke to it. Thanks for checking out my post!

Looks great! I love chasing waterfalls ;)
Enjoy the festival! :)

Hehe yep yep can't stop chasing waterfalls they're so beautiful 😍 Thanks for stopping by my post!

Wonderful your every photo..I am interesting visit visit the thailand.

Yes definitly go it's such a tourist friendly country and great food!!!

Haha never seen a sticky waterfall before, looks like quite an experience 🙏🏼

Have to give you big ups for your design towards the end of the post with your related articles, looks amazing 🤟🏼

Thanks @Williamwest ! So great you gotta do it!

I was trying to figure out a way to do it. Wish I could make the images clickable as well and spaced next to each other but I can't figure that out hahaha

Great photos. Scaling up a waterfall sounds so cool!

It was great!! Especially cause your not slipping or injurying your knees on the rocks! So fun

It looks like an amazing place to go for an adventure!!! Great pics x

Thank you!! It's so unique! Natures playground !

your photos are very nice.looks like you had a good time with your friends near the waterfalls

Thank you! I had a blast it was so much fun. I think the best was just sitting around with the water flowing around and feeling safe. Like you're not going to slip!

That looks like so much fun!!

It was!!! Something different to do if you're in Thailand!

wow wow~ I tried one also! great try!

You did!? Where at? Such a cool natural wonder !

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lalilands
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=come-along-7-a-sticky-waterfall


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Adding a new point to the map ! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68