Come Along [9] - Quaint Town of Pai

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5348.JPG

”Please Lilan, Please... you got to check out Pai it was my favorite place in Thailand”

That’s what my buddy Dan told me as I was going to go to Thailand. So Pai was officially added to my list even though I had no idea what it was about. But when someone else is that convinced it needs to be on my list then it really must be.

Pai is a little town in the hillside 3 hours away from Chiang Mai. When I looked it up I got a sense of a backpackers town catered towards tourists with lots of cute cafes and adventuring tours. Sounds like everything I enjoy in one location, so even though it was a little out of the way to told Josh that we just had to go. We booked a shuttle and tried our best not to get car sick on the windy journey up the hillside to Pai.

IMG_5349.JPG

IMG_6635.JPG

Finally reaching Pai the shuttle stopped off in the middle of a main road already bustling with a night market. This is definitely a highlight every night. The street is lined with cafes, bars, food stands and little shops. We headed straight to our bungalow next to the river to check in. I was so excited put down my stuff and head back to check out all of the wares. There were so many unique items! One of my biggest regrets was not buying the things I wanted because I figured it would be readily available in any other town in Thailand, but that is not true.

IMG_6731.JPG

IMG_6775.JPG

IMG_6716.JPG

The town itself is very small and quaint. During the day time it’s so quiet and peaceful. We only planned for 2 nights in Pai so instead of doing any adventuring we just wanted to soak in the relaxed pace. I started off the day with a morning soak in the pool and a lovely breakfast provided by our lodging. Afterwards we got massages and strolled along the river, criss crossing back and forth the many bridges.

It’s really hard to describe Pai, but it is a special place that feels different from the rest of Thailand. You just feel comfortable there. I wish I set aside more time for Pai. If you’re in Chiang Mai and have a few days to spare take a day trip to Pai it’s really great.


Thanks for Coming Along!
See you again in Pt 10

Xoxo SteemIt - Lilan

IMG_4884.jpg


For more travel stories and photography follow
@Lalilands


Instagram:Lalilands


39B86BB8-19C7-453F-8D6C-05D06324EDFC.jpg


Sticky Waterfall

Pt 1-Follow Your Heart
Pt 2- A Contrast in Realities
Pt 3- The Most Dangerous Market in Thailand
Pt 4- Overnight Train to Chiang Mai
Pt 5- Ancient Chiang Mai
Pt 6- Baby Elephant at the Jungle Santuary
Pt 7 - Climbing a Sticky Waterfall
Pt 8- Lantern Festival

Sort:  

I love those Thai night markets, they're always colourful and such great places to eat.

Yes and the food is so cheap !!! I love them! One of the best parts of Thailand lo

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lalilands
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=come-along-9-quaint-town-of-pai


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like such a beautiful area

Yea it was really peacefully so different than the major destination spots in Thailand!

😎👍😎

We've had lots of people rave about Pai. Yet, we had one 'negative' review. It was from a family friend that told us it used to be way cooler and she 'thinks' it's become over-run by tourists now. We don't think she has been back, but heard stories of its changes in the past five years or so. Obviously, these things happen when the word gets out about a 'hidden gem'. What are your thoughts on that? As from what you describe, it's not really the case.

I really liked it!! I heard Mae Hong Son is way more authentic, but Pai has become its own unique tourist haven, not totally "hidden" but it's still quite the journey to get there so not commercialized yet.

We guess we have to get there before it becomes "The Beach" situation. Thinking of spending Songkran (Thai New Year) in Chiang Mai or somewhere in the North. We have to check prices and availability. So, maybe a day trip or two to Pai could be implemented in the plans :)

The 6th picture reminds me a little bit of Kenya. :) The small shops and bars... looks like a amazing time there in Pai.
Sweet story.
Thanks for sharing

Does it ?? That's awesome. I really want to see Kenya sometime. Pai is definitly charming, worth the journey if you have extra time in Thailand

You should definitely visit Kenya. Yes It does. I think it looks pretty similar.
Kenyaroad

Incredible photos. I can see why it's your favourite, it seems so quiet and still. Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks! It's definitely different. Always nice to have a quiet getaway in between all the hustling of traveling lol

Definitely putting this on the list when we're going to Thailand.
It looks divine.

Yes definitly! It's kind of hard to get to but if you have a few days to spare I think it's worth it!

Lovely descriptive content on the little town @lalilands nice photography of the area too.

Thanks @joanstewart it's a really cute town. Glad my buddy convinced me to go haha

Really very nice i liked it 👍🏼

Thank for reading! Probably the one place I want to go back and spend more time in a thailand !

I heard a lot about it’s beautiness so i think i have same thinking and wish to visit it. Hope u all the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70