My Road Trip #1

in #travel6 years ago

aeirial-view-of-traffic-and-overpasses-picture-id94502433.jpg
I began my day on a very good mood excited at the feeling that I would be travelling down to the Federal capital territory in my country Nigeria. As an adventure-obsessed person I was, this opportunity was the best I have been waiting for I couldn't be more happy. Well, my story is quite interesting while also raising a few eyebrows at the same time. I was travelling from Lagos down to Abuja and I decided to take the popular route which will take me past states like Oyo, Kwara, Niger and Kogi states. As I have never been to a whole lot of places within Nigeria I was glad the chance was finally here. Although travelling by road is stressful as you would have to cope with the long stretch of sitting maybe 10-12 depending on traffic and other unforseen circumstances. Anyway, I was blinded by all the problems ahead due to the sheer excitement.
asphalt-road-in-tuscany-italy-picture-id503926644.jpg
As early as 6:00am, I was already at the bus park and within an hour, we were en route to the FCT. I simply plugged in my earphones and enjoyed the cool beats from different genres of music on my shuffle list. All was going smoothly bar the road potholes and diversions. Approximately six hours we were past states: Oyo, Kwara and Niger. Not so long after stepping into Kogi state, the unexpected happened. Another road diversion happened and within few minutes a journey I would have rated excellent was marred when armed bandits with their faces covered in masks jumped into the highway and forcefully halted my bus shooting sporadically into the air. It was the greatest shock of my life, I was confused like the other passengers in the bus. Should I shout?, Should I cry? Should I pray? This questions amongst others with swift silly responses followed. I was confused and dumbfounded and before I knew it the ambush was already complete. The bandits were undoubtedly from the Northern part of the country based on how they communicated together. They ransacked my bus as fast as they could, forcefully collected individual items from all the passengers including myself. Oh my God! My Iphone! I thought. And as part of the security awareness I was taught, in situations like that, it's better not to argue and cooperate fully with their demands. They collected all my cash, and other personal belongings. Within 5 minutes they disappeared back into the surrounding bushes. I couldn't believe my eyes.
road-in-mountains-picture-id491712724.jpg
Well, we all dusted ourselves and got back into the bus before it gets worse because I couldn't withstand being taken hostage or something that would have been another experience entirely. With my earphones gone, and all I had with me gone. The trip had turned sour. Few hours later, we finally got to Abuja with sober faces and after highlighting from the bus, I located the nearest telephone booth to contact my colleague where I spent the week.
Travelling back to Lagos was quite easy and interesting, the journey was cool and calm. I felt I should share this experience with fellow steemitans because I felt we all face different risks and uncertainties while going on travels, excursions, adventures etc. Although all risks and uncertainties vary from region to region, city to city and country to country. We as travellers just need to be prepared and forsee the challenges we may face ahead either on land, rail, sea or air routes.
trafficjam-on-highway-picture-id522785736.jpg
In essence, The resurgence of armed robbery and kidnapping on some major roads across the world has raised fresh concerns over the safety of lives and property for travellers.
asphalt-highways-and-sun-set-scene-picture-id488428896.jpg
Road safety is not something that travelers necessarily think about in planning their experiences abroad
ASIRT suggests that travelers:
∆ Select the safest form of transportation in your area
∆ Avoid late-night road travel in countries with poor safety records and/or mountainous terrain
∆ Understand how seasonal hazards affect road conditions
∆ Know the dates of local holidays
∆ Additional suggestions for pedestrians are:
∆ Be aware of traffic patterns in your area
∆ Be especially alert at intersections
∆ Wear reflective clothing if jogging at dusk or dawn (especially in locales where jogging may be uncommon)
∆ Do not walk where you cannot easily be seen
∆ Remember that most road fatalities are pedestrians
∆ Avoid hitchhiking
∆ Avoid riding with a driver who appears intoxicated, irrational, or over-tired
∆ Always ride in the back seat of a taxi cab
∆ Wear seat belts whenever possible

Road travel in some developing countries poses additional road risks. Public transportation in some areas may consist of overcrowded, overweight, and top-heavy minivans or buses. Taxicabs may not appear to be in good condition, and drivers may or may not be licensed. Sidewalks may or may not be lit, or exist at all. In these cases, follow the advice of the on-site staff, program provider, travel agent, or other responsible party administering your travel experience. They can teach you how to minimize your risk when selecting various modes of transportation.

Sort:  

sorry to hear about your experience man. dangerous world we live in. thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks for your vote. More pieces to share from my end!

Lovely piece...sorry bout the travails!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69460.45
ETH 3683.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24