You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: By train through Europe - 1st August - Kolding

in #travel6 years ago

This is, at least in Germany, a common story told by beggars (one guy in my city has been asking me for money for his ticket home since I moved there), but I chose to believe them in this case.

I think this is pretty common everywhere. Money for return tickets, petrol, that sort of thing. Sometimes they'll have something to "trade" or "sell" which is pitifully broken or worthless. For some reason I think the idea of someone being stranded tugs at our heartstrings a little more than usual. Extra points for having a couple of hungry and scared-looking kids with them.

It works on me, I guess. I usually give them the money... unless I see the same person/family twice. No second helpings, sorry.

Sort:  

For me, it highly depends on the context. Our city has a lot of "regulars", you just recognize them after a while. Some are super rude and/or pushy. Some, like the punks, compliment you, ask if you have some money for weed, and if you say no, they wish you a nice day and fuck off.

Thing is, I don't like to be lied to, and if I feel like someone who's asking me for money lies to me, I really don't want to give them money.

The punks got my spare change more than once.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71