Explore the beauty of northern Thailand, Chiang Mai - My travel diarysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Hello everyone, my name is Nadine I am from Austria and I am new on steemit. I am sharing this account together with my boyfriend Leo.

One of my favorite hobbies is traveling. Doesn't matter if it´s alone, with friends or with my boyfriend. As I saw that steemit is a very good opportunity to tell other people about experiences, other cultures and lifestyles, or just giving some good advice's where to travel or what to visit, I decided to post from now on every day about my own and crazy travel experiences and which places you HAVE to visit. I am going to start with Thailand because from all my travels, Thailand is the country where I spent the most time. 9 months in total. So I hope you guys like and enjoy my posts.

Last year at that time I decided to pack my stuff and move to northern Thailand, Chiang Mai. The reason why I did that was because I was tired of working as a pharmacist 40 hours a day, so I applied at a company for german customer service in Chiang Mai. As soon as they told me that I can start to work I directly booked my flight. It was not my first experience to move to another country. I already lived in Canada and Spain so that´s why I was not really nervous for my next adventure.

I´ve been to Thailand before but never to the northern part so I was very curious how everything looks there. When I arrived in Chiang Mai I was very surprised cause it was so green. I just loved it. But the best feeling for me was that I am not a normal tourist I am more like a local because I knew that I am going to spend a long time in this beautiful country.

The first week after I arrived, I had time for myself to explore everything around Chiang Mai before work started. The first thing I did was renting a scooter and exploring the old city with all the stunning temples. The good thing about renting a scooter is that you can also explore all the nice and beautiful places around Chiang Mai by yourself. So you don´t need to take a Songthaew (local taxi) or a Tuk Tuk.

What I can really highly recommend in Chiang Mai are the food places and food markets. You can have a very nice traditional meal like Pad Thai for 1$. Those street kitchens don´t always look very clean but don´t worry I am very sensitive by myself with that but I never had any issues with getting sick from food.
Every Saturday there is the big Saturday night market and also the big Sunday night market every Sunday.

If you are a person who loves hiking or trekking I can highly recommend the northern part of Thailand. The nature is just beautiful. You pass incredible waterfalls you meet wild elephants and you always meet other super friendly travelers. It´s a very good opportunity to escape the city life as Chiang Mai is the 2nd biggest city in Thailand.

Also a real highlight in Chiang Mai, the same than everywhere else in Thailand, are the Ladyboy Shows. You can find them in some nightclubs or bars. Sometimes they are free and sometimes you need to pay for the show.

For people who love to go out and dance all night long, I can not recommend the northern part of Thailand or Chiang Mai. There are a few very nice bars and clubs but they all close at midnight. Chiang Mai also has some bars which are open after midnight but be aware. Those clubs or bars are not legal and if the police catch you, you have to pay a very high fee. I always liked those cute bus bars where you sit outside.
In general, alcohol is not very expensive in Thailand but you can only get it at certain times and not after midnight.

Thailand is a Buddhist country so it´s very important that you always respect their rules. If you do that you won´t have any issues with the law or the police. What I can say is respect the King and always talk in a very nice way with the locals. Rules are for example: Don´t stand on their money because the King is on it, always wai them (shows respect), don´t scream at Thai people and if you sit, be aware that your feet are always on the bottom cause it´s very disrespectful to show your feet to people (feet are the dirtiest part for Thai people). If you keep those rules in your mind, you will have a wonderful time in the land of smiles.

Thailand is a country which is definitely more than worth to visit. I was really in love with their culture and lifestyle. All those beautiful people are so warmly. You don´t need to spend a lot of money to have a nice trip. A lot of backpackers choose Thailand because it is so cheap and for your money, you really get a lot. So for less money, you will have wonderful and amazing experiences.
For me the

Tomorrow I am going to post about my trip to Pai, a hippie village 3 hours away from Chiang Mai.

If you like my first post I would be very happy about likes, comments or any feedbacks.
Thank you so much for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @leo-tmp! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

photographs and details of your tour is really nice and welcome to steemit and i am sure you will enjoy here . best of luck for journey on steemit..

Nice to meet you, @leo-tmp!
@OriginalWorks can check the originality of this post! It will upvote if it works! Upvote this comment and I may do the same!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @leo-tmp to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thats great. Thank you so much!

Nice to meet you too :-)

Ohh Thailand - one of my favourite countries! And Pai? I love it :-)

Ohhh yes it´s just really really nice. My post for tomorrow will be about Pai :-)!
Really excited to write about that :-)

cool!
Was there 16 years ago the 1st time and spend every year a few months up there...

Nice Photos nice Post nice to Meet you.

Nice to meet you too :-) and thanks a lot for the comment

Nice post Nadine, well done!

Thank you so much :-)

Great post and welcome to steemit! You seem to have a good time in Chiang Mai. I'm looking at your posts. :)

Thanks for your kind words :-)

Congratulations @leo-tmp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post! @leo-tmp I also really like Thailand, I was there in Pattaya, Bangkok and the Kwai River. Very beautiful places. I signed up for you, I will wait for your next posts. Good luck!

Hey...thank you so much....ohhh I can understand why you like Thailand. Really really beautiful youre right!

I reposted your post And signed up for you. Please also repost my post. Thank you ! We will help each other. https://steemit.com/travel/@zhasmin/cruise-on-the-liner-oasis-of-the-seas-breakfasts-and-lunches-part-number-1

Hi, @Leo-tmp, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thank you so much! I think I am going to have a good time her yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62