How to Spend A Day in Bangkok like a Boss: 7 Must See AttractionssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7533.jpg

I only had ten days in Thailand. I say only because I could have spent an entire year in this divine country and been blissfully happy. I only had ten days, and after a month in India—think rugged and loud and chaotic—I was eager to escape to Thailand’s peaceful beaches; so, I decided to spend only one single day in Bangkok. Yet, planning out my day and beginning early, I was able to get a perfect tease taste of Thailand’s busiest city before running off to paradise. Here’s a breakdown of all the sights and scenes to see, if you only have a day or two (which quite frankly, I thought was enough).

The Temple Trio + a bonus Wat Traimit:![]

1. Wat Pho—Temple of Reclining Buddha

I was only able to complete this itinerary by waking up at an early hour, which I completely recommend to skip the lines, hoards of Chinese and Korean tourists, and most importantly, the afternoon heat! Most guides recommend starting the trio with the Grand Palace, but my taxi driver was extremely confused and couldn’t lead me to it.

I settled with beginning my day at Wat Pho, one of Bangkok’s oldest temples (completed in the 16th century), but I was not disappointed. Wat Pho had the most exquisite architecture and what felt like hundreds of Buddha statues lined up with thousands of stories to tell.

A couple of meters away lay the majestic reclining Buddha, one of the largest Buddha statues in Thailand, laying 46 meters long (the same height as the Statue of Liberty in NY!), plated lavishly in gold.

The reclining Buddha represents the historical Buddha, during his last moments, entering nirvana. I was simply in awe and fell in a quiet meditation in a grassy area nearby.

Entrance was 100 baht, but the price included a free water bottle, and I can’t emphasize enough how beautiful the architecture and statues were. From Wat Pho, there is a water taxi for only 4 baht across the Chao Phraya River to Wat Arun.

Hours: 8:00-7:00
Address: 2 Sanamchai Road Grand Palace Subdistrict Pranakorn District BANGKOK 10200, Thailand

2.Wat Arun—The Temple of Dawn

Wat Arun, Arun for the Hindu God Aruna, was not spectacular in comparison to Wat Pho, especially as part of it was undergoing construction at the time. However, as the name suggests, this temple is best experienced during the sunrise and sunset, as it is right on the riverbank. So during these times, people have told me that the reflection of the first and last rays of sunshine on the river is truly a spectacle. As it was a cloudy spring day when I was there, I wasn’t so fortunate, but it was free and wonderfully peaceful, thus, well worth the ferry over. (As of December 2017, the fee is now 50 baht.)

The beauty of Wat Arun is in the details. The golden patterns and embellishments are quite a sight to see. This temple holds several blooming lotus flowers potted around the temple, which is loaded with symbolism in Buddhism, so the scenery was enjoyable. The lotus flower grows through the muddied waters, and while it is rooted in the mud, the flower blossoms above water, above the impurities, above the attachments and desires of this world.

Hours: 8:30-17:30
Address: 158 Thanon Wang Doem, Khwaeng Wat Arun, Khet Bangkok Yai, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10600, Thailand

3. The Grand Palace

From there, I planned to head back to my hostel as my injured ankle was a bit sore and phone dead, but I ended up sticking it through to see the Grand Palace in all its glory. I hopped onto a bus that went around the palace complex for free and got off right before the area you had to pay to enter. The price for entry was 500 baht, which is a bit pricy—but it is after all the GRAND Palace. The palace was created as the official residence for the Thai King and royal court in 1782, and it truly was made for royalty.

The Grand Palace is huge, consisting of many beautiful buildings and gardens, most noticeably Wat Phra Kaew— The Temple of the Emerald Buddha. If you have the time, you’ll want to spend ample time here, gazing and gawking at the splendor of the architecture and golden sculptures.

Hours: 8:30-15:30
Address: 1 Maha Rat Rd, Khet Phra Nakhon, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10200, Thailand
(Note, you have to walk into the grand palace, your taxi will not be able to drive you to the doorstep {I learned this the hard way})

4. Wat Traimit

After waiting an hour for the rain to stop, I recruited a couple of new friends from my dorm room and we were in for an adventure. On the way to Chinatown, we happened on Wat Traimit, which I was grateful for. Wat Traimit houses the largest gold Buddha in the world, weighing at 5.5 tons! The gold in the statues is believed to be worth about 250 million USD. (Clearly, I’m a sucker for staring at shiny things.)

The temple holding the Golden Buddha is free to visit, but there is a museum attached, for which you have to pay 10 baht (I opted out).

Hours: 9:00-17:00
Address: 661 Tri Mit Rd, Khwaeng Talat Noi, Khet Samphanthawong, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10100, Thailand

5. Chinatown

Bangkok is home to the one of the world’s largest Chinatown, which is not surprising given their history. Chinatown will bombard your senses from all directions with bustling conversations in rows of cluttered market stalls, strange smells from both Thai and Chinese and fusion exotic foods, and many cheap thing-a-mabobs and gizmos for your eyes and hands to sort through.

We spent some time simply wandering the streets of Sampleng Lane and Yaowarat Road, the latter transforms into a wonderful road for the foodie-lovers, with rolling steel carts and open walled restaurants selling an assortment of goodies including dim sum, fresh seafood, and fresh coconut ice cream (promise me you’ll try the ice cream, I still have dreams of eating it out of a freshly cracked coconut, YUM!).

Take note of the China Gate, a colorful and quaint ceremonial gate that indicates an entrance into west area of Chinatown. The China Gate was built in 1999 to commemorate the late King Bhumibol’s 72nd birthday and symbolize the Chinese community’s respect for the great king.

I didn’t get a chance to go to this bar, but check out the Grand China Princess revolving rooftop bar for a full 360 view of the city for the bargain price of a cocktail. (Save your tummy space for the goodness of Yaowarat of Khao San Road!)

6. Asiatique Water Front

After Chinatown, we took a water taxi for 15 baht to the Asiatique Water Front, which was AMAZING. It was a waterfront pier with hundreds of stores and chic boutique (with Thai prices), the most delicious desserts and restaurants, and a Ferris wheel—it was like a cuter, cheaper version of the Santa Monica Pier!

I bought a wonderful backpack for $4 USD at the Asiatique markets that has endured eight months of harsh travel, and I still use to this day. This is the perfect place to buy all your loved ones durable and fun goodies.

Hours: 17:00- Midnight
Address: 2194 Charoen Krung Rd, Khwaeng Wat Phraya Krai, Khet Bang Kho Laem, 10120, Thailand

7. Khao San Road

Finally, we ended up at Khao San Road, which is a traveller’s haven. My favorite part of this adventure was the food: it was absolutely amazing. We binged on endless veggie pad thai, spring rolls, fruit, the most soothing coconut icecream, and my friend even had a taste of fried scorpion!

Aside from the food, this place is a bit for show, catering specifically to tourists. You’ll find fake brands selling for double the price of other marketplaces, rowdy bars blasting Top 40 music, countless tattoo and seedy massage parlors scattered around, and of course, the infamous alcohol buckets, held tightly in the greedy hands of tourists, walking in an already drunken stupor.

Get drunk and have fun, but don’t get lost on Khao San Road. You are in Thailand! Have some cultural Thai stories to bring back to your parents, instead of just a blur of trashy traveler tales (though they are great stories for friends..).

Hours: 18:00-2:00AM
Location: Khwaeng Talat Yot, Khet Phra Nakhon Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10200 Thailand (nearest BTS: National Stadium) Khwaeng Talat Yot, Khet Phra Nakhon, Krung Thep Maha Nakhon 10200, Thailand

After spending 30 days in a yoga ashram in India, it was a little rough adjusting to such a bustling city such as Bangkok. I was able to find peace in the astounding temples and blessings in all of the delicious, cheap food (and of course, Thai Tea omg)! I found the most beautiful souls to spend the day with and had the most perfect day I could ask for. On the way back from Asiatique, my new friends and I caught the sunset on the water taxi, and that moment was infinite.

If I had more time, I wish I could have seen: the night markets (jj green night market is a popular one), and the floating market. If you get a chance, be sure to do some extra research on these two~

And lastly, I snapped a picture of some helpful greetings and words! Thanks for reading, and as always if you have any comments or questions or better recommendations, please leave your thoughts in the comments below~

Namaste. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71067.77
ETH 3831.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44