Pen, paper, coffee

in #travel6 years ago

padpaper.gif

I was alone. I walked around downtown Long Beach, an adventure behind me. A couple of weeks of coast-to-coast travel. I'd done it, I'd made it and I was ready to go home.

I needed a change of gear but not to stop completely, a warm-down after intense exercise. I was like a sponge soaking up the SoCal street vibe, but I was full, the sponge was sodden, and needed to be squeezed.

I had a pen in my pocket. I always try to have a pen in my pocket. The next store had yellow legal pads for sale. I bought one and a pack of bubblegum flavoured Orbit. And next door to that was a coffee bar. Independent, not 'bucks or Peets.

With my tools ready, coffee and paper and pen all set, I could sit in the aircon chill and breathe. There was so much to come out of me, but it only comes out one word at a time, one letter at a time, one stroke at a time.

So I started to write. And as the pen slipped across the paper, the tension flew from my body and a month's worth of tears rolled down my cheeks. I wrote until I was done and then walked back out into the sunshine to see what Long Beach might have that nowhere else had.

Sort:  

This same thing has happened to so many of us but in different variations. Life is quite a pattern sometimes.

Congratulations @lloyddavis! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87