A trip to the North. Part 1 of 2: Iceland.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians!

I went on a trip to the northern regions of this planet back in 2009. My first stop was Iceland, my trip continued afterwards but this will be part 2 of this story. It travelled in July so during the summer and I was able to enjoy a very colorful landscape.



Iceland is the second largest island state in Europe (UK is the largest) and probably the most interesting fact: It is the largest volcanic island in the world! Iceland is famous for its numerous and also still active volcanoes.

It is located right on the Mid-Atlantic ridge, that’s basically the reason for all the volcanic activities. The tectonic plates literally collide here, namely the north-american and the eurasian plate.

Maybe some of you can still remember the volcanic eruption of the volcano ‚Eyjafjallajökull‘ in 2010. The eruption was followed by a huge ash cloud which made the whole air traffic impossible. It stopped completely in the most parts of north / mid Europe.

I used Iceland's Ring Road to travel around the island, that's a huge and long road that goes around the whole island. 

My first destination was Reykjavik, the capital of Iceland.

Some impressions of Reykjavik.


I went to a city called Husavik (translation: bay of houses) afterwards.

On my way there I came to a city called Akureyri.

Some impressions of Akureyri.


Impression of Husavik.


As you can see the landscape is simply breathtaking. I'm still happy I went there during summer :)

I made a couple of excursions. Here are some impressions:


1. Whale watching


2. Typical Iceland Horses :)
image taken somewhere on the road to the Mid-Atlantic Ridge


3. Mid-Atlantic Ridge
that was really awesome, this is the place where both plates collide!


4. The Strokkur Geyser
near Reykjavik, erupts approx. every 10 min, approx 80 – 120 feet high;


5. Jökulsarlon
glacial river lagoon / south-east of Iceland

in the back you can see the Ice Sheet (that's the part which is always covered with ice, the whole year)


Some pieces of ice washed ashore on the typical dark lava beach.


6. Skaftafell
national park / near Jökulsarlon


7. Gullfoss
famous waterfall; Gull = Gold, foss = waterfall; part of the Golden Circle, the most famous sights in Iceland;
unfortunately the weather was not good so I was not able to enjoy the golden view. Still impressive.


Iceland's energy is 100% regenerative, 100% pure geothermal energy thanks to the movement of the plates and its location. As some of you may know a couple of mining companies have their mining equipment in Iceland, energy is a not a problem there:)

Hope you enjoyed this little insight in Iceland's landscape and beauty!

Part 2 in the works, the travel continued :)

Steem on!



Sort:  

Wow, I lack words! This is astonishingly amazing ;D
It's so incredible beautiful there, thanks for sharing!

I'm heading over on Saturday for two weeks. I can't wait.

Your post have given me even more to look forward to!!!!

Awesome! Hope you enjoy your trip @gikititki !

Great pictures, I wish someday I will be able to visit Iceland.

I'm happy to see you like it! Fingers crossed @pompe72 :)

Hi! Thank you for very interesting virtual excursion, @lobotony! But I have a question. What are all that small white things at the SECOND picture in the part of Some impressions of Akureyri?

That's just packed hay @borishaifa :)

Beautiful pictures. I've wanted to visit Iceland for years!

Thank you @ellagrant! Just do it !:)

Who knew giant marshmellows grow wild in the Icelandic fields!

LOL yeah :)

Beautiful place @lobotony! lovely.

It definitely is @b0y2k! Thank you!

Makes me want to go even more! Your pictures are amazing!

What a beautiful and strange place, I love your photos. Thanks so much for sharing them here, it really brightens up the place! Ha

You're welcome :)

Beautiful pictures! This makes really makes me want to visit iceland too

Thank you! Really cool so many people like the post. Maybe you'll make it one day!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71