A trip to the North. Part 2 of 2: Greenland.

in #travel8 years ago

Hello Steemians!

This is the 2nd part of my story and trip to the north. My first stop was Iceland (Part 1). Further north I arrived in Greenland in the city Tassilaq, July 2009.


Some facts: Greenland is the biggest island in the world!

It is a politically autonomous part of Denmark and has the lowest population density in the world apart from the antarctic.

Tassilaq is the greenlandic name for the city, Ammassalik the danish and it is located in the south-east of Greenland. Tassilaq means 'like a calm lake'  because it is located in a pretty quiet fjord.

Tassilaq was like my headquarter or base. I made a couple of excursions as well as you can imagine :)

Some impressions of Tassilaq and some images of my excursions. Hope you enjoy.


The idyll is simply fabulous! 


The even had a soccer field and I enjoyed watching them pretty much every day :) You can see it in the lower pat of the image.



Tassilaq at twilight.


These little friends had not much to do. Huskys are adorable and beautiful animals, I love them.


But if you are in Greenland you have to do it: A dog-sled ride. It was awesome :)


A different view on Tassilaq, from the distance. I was standing in a real flower carpet :)


The harbor and a supply ship.


The typical jerky, can be found next to the houses very often.


And of course I went on a trip to see icebergs. A must :) We went in those little boats, you can see them in the lower part of the image.


On our way to the icebergs...


The colors, the landscape, the weather: A beautiful and breath taking mix.


In the upper part, right side, you can see again the ice sheet, this part is always covered with ice!


We are used to cars driving by our house. They have floes instead :)


... and finally some icbergs.


This is probably my favourite image :)


Stonehenge on ice ::))


I hope you enjoyed this little insight into Greenland. I can only recommend to go there. It's an experience you'll never forget.

Steem on!

Sort:  

Wow! Great posting and photos as well, thank you. Wasn't it some "muktuk", dried caribou by the cabin/house?

I also do travelogs, that have mostly been about the Canadian Rockies so far, maybe you'd also enjoy it, check it out:

http://steemit.com/@eric-boucher

Enjoy!

Namaste :)

Hi, thanx you as well! That's dried seal, very popular. Will check out your travelogs, thank you! Always good to have an inspiration!:)

These photos are splendid indeed ;D
Such Wow!

You always welcome :-)

Wow. Did you take all of these photos? They look good. Very professional.

Sure. Standard digicam at that time. Far away from being professional though :) But thank you!

Like on another planet , awesome

Surprisingly it isn't :) Thank you!

Your pictures really shows off the beauty of Greenland! Good job!

Thank you! Although this is just small part of it and the beauty it offers. Just a little insight :)

Fabulous.. Greenland has always been into my list.. Now I'm even more pumped up to get there.. <3

Great! Keeping my fingers crossed for you :)

@lobotony bucket listed! and so Up voted!
Tassilaq looks tassilaq indeed ... and very picturesque, too.
I'm awed that the sky there is so blue and no chem trails at all, beautiful!

Thank you! re: Chemtrails: Maybe its not worth it because of the low population density.

Quisiera verlosdecerca!

Very Beautiful Pictures Here!
upvoted!

Thank you!:)

I had waited a long time such information. You would not believe, but very often I visit the page of this mysterious land. Moreover, many times I made virtual trips by YouTube about Nuuk. I can not explain what interesting I find there. That is why I envy you a little) Thank you, @lobotony And by the way, I hadn't seen such good views of Greenland before.

Thank you very much for your comment, it is definitely worth to travel to Greenland! Maybe you make it one day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71