Black and White Photo Contest, Travel

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

2EC46E24-CEEC-42C6-9DDE-E00CE18E139A.JPG

I actually had a very difficult time turning this color photo into a black and white image. This was the best of all I tried. With bright yellow Cactus flowers in the foreground a dark brown cow in the center and reddish, brown mountains with shadows in the distance, it was a challenge.

Very shocked when we came across cattle in the middle of the desert!

I tried just using a red filter but that didn't work, too contrasting. I still have the yellow flowers blown out but this was the best I could do to hold the rest of the highlights, midtones and shadows.

Taken by the Peralta trail area in Gold Canyon, Arizona. I used my favorite camera, my Sony DSC-HV200V; f 3.2, 1/320, 6.2mm, ISO 100. Taken on March 31, 2016.

#Bwphotocontest

If you enjoy my work, please follow me, @LoloMarie
IMG_5674.JPG

Sort:  

It's a good B&W pic, @lolomarie! :)

Thank so much! Man, I sure had a time trying to get it just right.

Nice! Looking forward to more posts from you, keep up the good work! Check out my blog and follow if you're interested.

Thank you so much Nicolicreer, a very, very nice comment indeed.

I like how you've managed to make the cow stand out even with a busy natural background. :)

I also really like your other photo of the locomotive! Followed. :)

Thank you Jolene for the comments, compliment and for following! Did you see my praying mantis posts? One even has a link to my YouTube video.

Beautiful b& w Lolo Marie ! ^_^ love the dark brown cow, all of our cows here are brown stained, very different, more mountains-like..lol...
have a shiny monday my dear !

Thank you Barbara, in the US we have white cows, brown, black and spotted. Very surprised to see the cows out there. A farmer must be allowed to let them wander as I thought it was state property.

That looks great in b&w!

Thank you Melinda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68208.95
ETH 3894.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69