Summertime Blues

in #travel6 years ago

There's a long story behind this picture...

We had friends of ours visiting my parents in law's summer cottage and after some afternoon coffee time and water skiing it was time to bring them back by boat to the mainland.

After that was done, I asked my daughter to take the boat to our closed small lighthouse:

IMG_8200-1.jpg

Well, at this point the boat's engine ran out of fuel - but no problems - there is a second tank with ~20 liters of gas.
So I change the fuel line and try to re-start the outboard engine - but it it totally dead... nothing but the lights are on...

So - maybe we need to wait some if the engine is too hot - so we wait. But nothing.

Then I call my father in law - could you come and fetch us, please.
And I start googling for outboard engine starter problems...

After a while we are back to our "home harbour" I start checking the engine - and tell my daughter how the carburators work - and while apply some more gas to show her the "moving parts" I notice that she never put the engine out of gear - that's why the engine refused to start.

So I put the engine out of gear and it starts beautifully :)

I should have known and I should have checked - but I can assure you - next time we'll both know :)

Sort:  

interesting story beautifully describe

That's a great story and a lovely memory for both of you that will be forever in your heart. I'm glad you share this moments with family and loved ones!

Ha! a simple solution and a learning experience as well! Thank goodness for cell phones. Great photo! Tip!

Hi @lundsten! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

Check out @melinda010100 blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66732.73
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66