You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blue Angles Homecoming Airshow Shot in Super-Slow Motion

in #travel5 years ago

Hi Anthony! Thanks for sharing your video here. That was really fun watching those metal birds in the air.

I like the exhibition of the first aircraft. I just wonder how the pilot stayed sane with all those twists and turns in a very small plane like that. The background music suddenly switched starting with the second aircraft show. I thought I wanted to stand up and dance with the beat. 😃

I love the US Navy plains synchronized flying at 2:20, 2:48, 3:01, 3:23 and 3:55. Then they became six at 4:08! It got more exciting towards the end and I loved it all the more!

Yes, I took note of the time stamps when I specifically liked the exhibit. 😃 I just hoped there is an elevated platform to take photos and video to get rid of those heads of people in front.

Thanks again for sharing your video!

Sort:  

Hi Macoolette,

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, I love Surf Guitar music. It was very popular in the early 1960's. And it has a following worldwide. Actually the band that plays this track is from Russia!

The synchronization is something that the Blue Angles have been doing for a long time. They refer to themselves as a precision flying team. They always start the show with the "diamond" formation and two opposing "solo" pilots. Toward the end of the show the solo pilots join the diamond and make a delta formation.

And Skip Stewart, the stunt plane pilot in the bi-plane is one of the best pilots in the world. He does things with airplanes I didn't know was possible. It's even more incredible that he built that airplane from an old aircraft he found in a barn.

1960s! I did not realize the song was that golden. It does not sound like it.

The delta formation makes the ending more memorable. They know how to save the best for last.

Have you ever flown a plane?

No I am not a pilot. But when I was in the US Marines I was a parachutist. This is also known as Airborne. And our parachutes could be steered with toggles and you could "fly" them and land where you wanted.

That parachuting must be adventurous. I wish I can try that. I've been wishing to do skydiving but I wonder when. I heard of only one place here in our country that the said activity is allowed but then timing seem so elusive. One day, hopefully...

Where do you live? None of my jumps were skydiving. All my jumps were static-line. This is where the parachute opens automatically from a chord attached to the airplane. Once to the parachute is open you actually fly the shoot by steering it. That's my favorite part is the soaring in the air. I also want to try para-gliding.

I am from the Philippines.

Oh yes, yours were static jumps. What I really mean is anything like that coming from the air and going down. Either skydiving or parachuting. I only tried parasailing which I still came from the ground (water actually) and tied to a boat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85