You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Video Post] Japan, Kitakyushu daytrip, part II. Kokura castle visit, Riverwalk shopping mall.

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Thank you for sharing your video adventure in Japan. I have visited Tokyo and Kyoto last 2016 and I can say that indeed, Japan is a nice country and it is worth revisiting.

I haven't heard about Kitakyushu perfecture. It looks like you took the unbeaten path on yout visit. That is a good one because I believe there are not much tourists and you can have the place more peacefully.

How high is the Kokura castle? Anything special in it?

Sort:  

Well, I have visited a lot of not-so-tourist places, and I must admit that it is a pleasure to visit all the smaller prefectures. I myself am not fond of crowded places, where everyone goes, and often tend to visit small streets aside from the busy tourist streets and places. I love to experience the pure culture of the countries, so I try my best to avoid the tourists. This doesn't mean, that I don't like Tokyo. THe capital has its own charm, which is absolutely amazing and you cannot miss it!

About the height of Kokura castle, I am not sure. I've never seen any info on that, but I assume, that the upper observation deck is about 40 meters high. It's just located in a very beautiful park, and Kitakyushu is very peaceful city, although it hosts the biggest port on the Kyushu island.

I fully agree in taking the less commercialized and touristy places. I have experienced that Japan alone and was able to compare Tokyo and Kyoto. The latter is still a touristy place but still more peaceful and not crowded as compared to Tokyo. Somehow we were able to move more freely without elbowing our ways around like in Tokyo.

Okay, that made me check on Google map to see where Kitakyushu is in Japan. I did not realize it is almost on the southernmost part. Very far from Tokyo. I wonder if it has international airport that a foreigner can directly land into (though I can't find one based on the flights that are coming from my country). I just thought of that because the common Tokyo and Osaka airports are very far if travelled by land.

Well, I would recommend visiting Fukuoka too. It’s bigger city and I find it a bit more foreigners’ place. Both Fukuoka and Kitakyushu have international airports.

I'll keep that in mind. I am just hoping that opportunity would be opened so I can visit Japan again. Thanks for sharing those details.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86