Trekking The Himalaya - [Original Video]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Steemians,

I have finally managed to get together all of the footage that I took in Nepal and put it together in a short video. It's mostly filmed with a GoPro, but I did take some footage with the DSLR and the Mavic. Flying the drone out there wasn't as easy as I thought it would be and I just didn't get the footage i wanted with it unfortunately. Our long treks would have us arriving in the early evening at our destinations and it would be straight in for dinner. By that time either the clouds would have rolled in or it would be dark. Go Pro was mostly hanging off the chest strap of my backpack.

Hope you enjoy this video

Mark

Sort:  

You got some cool stuff- like this video. I recently bought a wearable gimbal- feiyu tech wg2- its really good and keeps all shots perfectly steady- a cheaper hand held version is available too. I bought it so the steadiness of my drone videos can be matched in handheld footage too. will upload soon.

Stunning scenery. Thank you for sharing this short video.

Awesome vid @markangeltrueman :)
Planning to do the trek in a year or so. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

  1. Take drugs with you so that you don't have to rely on getting to a hospital over there if you fall ill (75% of trekkers get stomach bugs which is easily sortable with antibiotics)

Have you trekked at altitude before? Theres a whole range of tips for trekking at altitude but if you want specific route planning info i can give you that too.

I haven't trekked any serious altitudes yet. Highest I've done is probably at 3000 meters, need all the tips you could give. I would be very grateful if you could share specific route planning info as well :) Really keen on doing the Annapurna Base Camp too.

Our itinerary was this one...

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ecqRaj_5uyRxJaVSHzetglB26rh1gss24DAi5MHjFww/edit?usp=sharing

We organised it with Kandoo Adventures who provided the porter and the guide.

My main tip for altitude would be to drink and eat as much as you can. You should be taking on about 4 litres of water a day at that altitude and if you don't it will affect your body. Theres no way of knowing how altitude is going to affect you. Im pretty fit and in Nepal i wasnt affected too badly with altitude (mainly just lack of breath), and that only occured at 5000m , whereas when we did Kilimanjaro, i struggled from about 3000m upwards.

Thank you for sharing your detailed itinerary. Really appreciate it.

I have heard lots of stories about altitude sickness. I hope my reaction to altitude won't be too bad. Thanks for the great tip :) Will definitely keep that in mind.

Fantastic video. I'd like to see it in VR :)

Still better IRL

The Himalayan range never fails to leave me dumbstruck every time! Your video made me want to go back to the Himalayas :)
Wonderful video!

When was your visit sir, I was also there on the October times. Great to know that you reached the heights of more than 5000m .

We were there from October 3 till 22nd

Congratulations @markangeltrueman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome experience! :)

You've posted a lot of beautiful ones.
I liked your post.

Please upvote and comment in my post. And I will replay my comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68