The Best Trek of European AlpssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

Every year I have at least one "great adventure", climbing some high mountain or trekking some legendary route. My challenge in 2016 was one of the best trekking routes in Europe - Walkers Haute Route.

Starting point was in Chamonix, France. This beautiful and small city, right on foot of Mont Blanc, hosted the first Winter Olympics! Here is my group at the beginning of our journey:

WP_20160813_14_33_22_Pro.jpg

The hike took us fifteen long days of walking! Our distance was about 225 km, we gained some 14000 vertical meters, crossed 11 mountain passes, some glaciers and summited the highest trekking peak in Alps - Barrhorn (3610 m.). Here is me, fooling on summit:

WP_20160824_10_59_21_Pro.jpg

This trek is actually very popular, thousands of trekkers walk it every year, but most of them are spending their nights in hotels, eating in restaurants. Our biggest challenge was carrying all our stuff, including food, stoves, cooking gas, tents and sleeping bags... Our backpacks were over 25 kg-s in the beginning!

We had the perfect weather at most of the time. Some nights we didn't even use the tents, sleeping under bare starshine, like on this pic:

WP_20160814_21_29_21_Pro.jpg

But most of our campsites were unbeliveably beautiful! Here is a proof:

WP_20160818_06_43_05_Pro.jpg

In the future I'll be writing more specific blog about this journey, but now I just say, we finished this trek 15 days after beginning in small town on foot of Matterhorn - another very famous mountain in Switzerland. You have seen it somewhere, I can bet! Its the one and only "Toblerone mountain":

WP_20160827_15_35_03_Pro.jpg

Thanks for reading, hopefully you liked it! And if you wish to trek it yourself, I'll be glad to give you some useful hints and info about it ;)

Sort:  

The campsites are GORGEOUS!!!! Jealous! Also I see that you're based in Tallinn, I love that city, can't wait to go back!

Thanks! If you'll be back and want to discover our best nature trails, I can recommend many of them near Tallinn ;)

And I plan to publish more pics with some stories about this trek in my blog near future.

I want to! I'm looking for jobs in Tallinn, was there for 2 weeks in April. Hahaha keep posting, I'll keep reading =)

Cool! Let's hope to meet, when you'll be here :)

And its easyer to find motivation for blogging, if I know, at least somebody is reading... :D

Haha I will definitely let you know if I'm in Tallinn again!!!!!!!

And now I'm waiting for your new blog post, so we can keep convo flowing under there ;)

Superb...what a beautiful place...and what a trek...good for you :)

Thanks! I have good memories with this trek and now I'm trying to publish some summary of them with pics, day by day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83