You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are orphanages in Bali a scam? 😳

in #travel6 years ago

I don't know much about this thing in Bali. But I know for a fact that many orphanages in Nepal have been misused to get money from donations and kids haven't seen any of that. Soo donating should be done carefully.

But you went there. And you bought those groceries and veggies. So I guess you are 100% sure kids benefited from ur actions or? I've spent one evening in Nepal near Chitwan national park in an orphanage and bought kids some sweets and stuff...Soo from my experience, visiting is for sure worth it and has effect.

Donating...dunno. There's a story from Dorota Nvotova (traveler from Czech republic) and she created a chain of orphanages and collected loads of donations, just to find out couple of years later that all those money have been kept privately by people on the Nepalese side and kids didn't get anything :/

Sort:  

I don't know much about this thing in Bali. But I know for a fact that many orphanages in Nepal have been misused to get money from donations and kids haven't seen any of that. Soo donating should be done carefully.<<< Yep!! It's the same here! You have to really do your research before going. That really sucks though. I hate that people exploit good intentions.

Yep, went and bought groceries and I watched some ladies that work there start cooking it up for dinner.

That Czech republic story makes me so sad/angr/all of the above.

I love your oprhanage pic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85