Yellowstone National Park 2018 Collected | Longread w/ 25 Pics

in #travel5 years ago

Visiting National Parks has turned into a bit of a hobby over the last two years. I even went so far as to purchase a National Park Pass for the year to make it more cost effective - I want to add that having the Pass also makes entering parks go faster.

Yellowstone is the original National Park and in many ways remains the pinnacle of visitors single park trips.

Grand Prismatic Spring

One of the locations I decided not to visit during my first trip to Yellowstone last year was the Grand Prismatic Spring.

However, this time around I put in the effort to hike up to the elevated viewing area for this collection of photos.

🎵 Around the lake tonight 🎵

The largest single feature in Yellowstone Park is Yellowstone Lake. Located in the southeast quadrant of the park, it covers 136 square miles of area.

If you venture into that section of the park, it is impossible to avoid the lake. Subsequently, it is also a good place to find many of the creatures that inhabit Yellowstone because, well, they get thirsty!

Volcanic Activity

The first trip I made to Yellowstone broke down a lot of my fantastic ideas about what the park was, then it surpassed them.

I tell everyone to go for their self now.

Rapture in Blue = 0

It’s likely that you are aware of Yellowstone’s placement atop a massive volcanic hotspot. In fact, it is this location that gives it such amazing topological features.

As I have previously written, for me, the park is all about the combination of hydrological and geological elements - of which there is no shortage.

Pacify the Valley

I’m happy with the visits I’ve made to Yellowstone because of what I’ve been able to see for myself. However, there are so many more views within the boundaries that it would take a dedicated effort to really know the place personally.

Often I take multiple angles of a location. Earlier today I posted horizontal angles of these two spots with the intention of showing you what the vertical versions looked like as well - here they are.

Yellowstone Falls

I’ve always been a sucker for a waterfall going all the way back to the boat rides on the Allegheny River in East Brady, Pennsylvania.

Wasn’t going to miss the opportunity to see this one again.

Yellowstone is a massive park with enough features along the Grand Loop to keep you busy for a week. But the majestic moments are pure happenstance. We don’t know if the clouds will part, if the herd will pass or if we’ll be able to get a satisfactory angle in that moment. We can only put our self there and do the work.

The tower always falls but our princess is in another castle

Though I visited the Tower Falls last year, my route through Yellowstone this year made it a convenient stop this time around too.

Below is the picture I captured on the last trip. Was really surprised how similar they arez I suppose I shouldn’t be though given the restricted access to the viewing locations at the site.

The Bison of Yellowstone

Much of the reason why I went back to Yellowstone was for the animal sightings. Bison herds were on the move throughout the park when I passed through this year but it’s important to go to the right areas in the valleys near the lake to see them.


I’m really happy with the collection of bison photos I have but unfortunately none of the bear pictures are good enough to post - need to get another lens because I’m not trying to take close-ups.

Last Stop: Soda Butte

This wasn’t on my list of “must see” points in Yellowstone but it was the last notable stop I made before leaving the park this summer.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the photos in this collection. There are some stragglers which might trickle out in the future but for now I’m content with the version of the National Park I’ve shown you over the last two years.

Thanks for taking a look!

If you would like to read my blog from last year, follow this link

Sort:  

Those waterfall pics are fantastic! The bison looks pretty mean though.
I came over from the pay it forward curation where you were featured this week. by @vikingventures

Very much appreciate all the promotional help @viking-ventures has offered.

I suppose you could call me a "waterfall chaser". Glad I had the opportunity to get decent photos of bison this time around.

i thought that the first picture was from iceland.
I found your blog through @viking-ventures and i like the photos used, keep on steeming and good luck

hope to get over to Iceland in the future - Looks amazing. Thank you for having a look

Love the side-eye that the bison is giving you! hilarious

Also the Grand Prismatic Spring looks incredible; never heard of or seen it before. Must make a note to visit one day when I eventually make it to Yellowstone

Definitely get out to Yellowstone if you have a chance -The Grand Tetons are right next door as well.

Fantasti, will do. Thanks for the tip!

As a Wyoming resident, I'm so excited to see such a great post about this great state! (I also note you were out in the Pacific Northwest in some of your other posts.)

I'm sad that you get so little notice on Steemit, but I can help a little bit.
I love your post so much that I decided to include you in my Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry for this week. Keep up the great work!

I have more Wyoming content coming up. Thank you for selecting my blog - much appreciated.

Wyoming is in my top 5 states that I have visited over the last few years. Absolutely beautiful anmassive - you're lucky to be a resident

Great article and superb photos. I'm amazed to see a photo of a Bison. I thought they all had been hunted until extinction already... Thanks for sharing!

PS: I've found your post because @viking-ventures featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Glad you like the photos - the buffalo is still very much alive, luckily. They aren't as plentiful as centuries past but have a solid population out there.

Oh wow :O I freaking have to go to Yellowstone once!! Alho, I'd be afraid of those bisons I guess. Weird fur they have :) Your photography work is amazing :) Thanks @viking-ventures for sharing this :)

It's good to be afraid of the bison. There are videos which make the rounds here in Wyoming fairly frequently about the tourists who aren't scared enough of the bison...

Right, they are massive - it was incredible to be so close to them. The close-up profile is not zoomed. It was walking along the edge of the road and I just stopped there to get a pic. I'd say it was no more than 10 feet away.

I was delighted to see your photos! This park is on my bucket list and I hope I get to see at least some parts of it in the near future.

I've been through Yellowstone twice now and highly recommend everyone visit at some point. you can see my post from last year near the bottom of this blog post.

@awakentolife - this person needs to be on the curie regular list. :-)

Very much appreciate the recommendation - I'll be doing more long form content coming up. I also have a number of video projects I'm putting out...when I can.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

That's great - will resteem

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 115 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

That's good news!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94