ADVENTURE TIME: Getting Ready For a 7 Week Road Trip - US West Coast to East Coast!

in #travel6 years ago

It is almost time for my next big adventure, and I am so incredibly, immeasurably excited!

route66.jpg

As some of you know I have been living and studying acting in Long Beach, California, this past year. It has been an amazing year, I have learned so much about myself, about what I want from my life and I have grow so much as a person. I am so grateful for all the experiences I have had and all the people I have met and I cannot believe that my studies at California State University Long Beach are already almost over, finals week is next week and then I will be done!

I am sad that my classes are ending, I have never felt this passionate about studying before and CSULB has a wonderful theater program. But even though I am sad that my adventure at CSULB is ending I am also so so so excited about my next big adventure which makes it easier to leave my life in Long Beach. Me and my amazing roommate Bridgette are going on a road trip from Long Beach, California, to Boston, Massachusetts! We will be leaving Long Beach in about two weeks, around the 27th of May and then we will have seven weeks to get to Boston from where I will fly back to Finland on the 16th of July.

Home Sweet Home

Our home for the road trip is going to be our Dodge Ram Van from 1997 that I bought in January. We have been working on it a bit to make it into more of a home. We removed the seats and built a frame for a queen sized bed with storage space under the bed. Then we got solar panels so that we can have a small fridge and charge our computers etc. We have not yet installed the solar panels and frankly I have no idea how to do that, but I hope we can figure it out before we leave. There are still a bunch of other things we need to get done with the car before we leave, but once it is ready we will post pictures of the inside! We might also post some videos of the building process, it has been a bit of a challenge since neither me or Bridgette have too much experience with building things. But I am really happy with what we have done so far!

This is our beautiful home and companion for the road:

The Travel Trio

The travel trio on this road trip is going to be Mia (that's me!), Bridgette and Gremlin.

I am Mia, an art lover and acting enthusiast with a profound interest in psychology and a deep curiosity about the world around me. I am also a dreamer and a thoughtful listener who loves philosophical discussions and sometimes takes breaks from everyday life to disappear into my own imagination. I am currently working on how to be the most creative, inspired and passionate me.

Bridgette is my amazing, loving, spiritual, creative, energetic, inspiring and funny roommate and I am so excited that I am doing this road trip with her! She also has a steemit account so we will take turns posting pictures, videos and stories about our adventures during the road trip. Bridgette has not made her first post yet, but she will really soon and then you can learn more about what a wonderful person she is! I am so happy that I answered to that room for rent post on Craigslist that only had a picture of a palm tree, otherwise we would have never met and we would not be going on this adventure together. And we get along so well, it feels like the universe wanted us to meet!

The third companion on the road is Gremlin, Bridgette's cute little dog who loves everything and everyone and is always excited about new adventures. You will be seeing a lot of her!

The Trip

We will be traveling through more than 20 states and stopping by either Mexico or Canada on the way so that I can exit the Country before my study visa expires and come back on a ESTA travel visa. We will be visiting several cities and national forests, canyons, deserts, lakes, rivers and waterfalls. We will be driving thousands of miles, hiking as much as we can, trying local foods, exploring the local music scenes, visiting thrift stores, getting lost and meeting locals, travelers and hopefully Steemians from all over the US and maybe all over the world!

And we will document all of this so you can follow us on our journey!

We will post more about the trip and the states we are going to visit soon, and if you happen to live or be in any of the places that we are visiting we would love to meet you and get to know you! We might organize some meetups along the way, and we hope that we can meet as many Steemians as possible. Let us know if you are interested in a steemit meetup somewhere between Long Beach and Boston! ^_^

Much love to all of you!

mialinnea & Bridgette

Sort:  

SOOOOOO excited to see your journey and all the cool pictures youll post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67