My exchange #13 - Table Rock Beach, Laguna Beach, California

in #travel7 years ago

Table Rock Beach is definitely the nicest beach that I have been to in California so far! It is situated a bit outside of a city called Laguna Beach and about a 60 minute drive from where I live. The beach got its name from the big rock formation in the middle of the beach which you will see in some of the pictures below.

IMG_20170910_152830.jpg

We where planning on going to Laguna Beach, since we had heard that it was the nicest beach in Southern California but when we got there we got a bit confused since the beach did not seem that special, so we decided to look for another less popular beach in the area.

This is Laguna Beach:
(do not get me wrong it is a nice beach, but just not what we where expecting:)

IMG_20170910_141113.jpg

Since the city of Laguna Beach looked really cute we decided to walk around a bit before trying to find another beach and we found many cute stores, surf shops and restaurants. Laguna Beach seems to be a quite popular touristic destination and a upper class city to live in, with mostly organic food stores, expensive restaurants and designer stores.

I also found a really cute candy shop with lots and lots of different toffee candies with many many flavors like e.g. salty water.

IMG_20170910_142956.jpg

IMG_20170910_145709.jpg

IMG_20170910_143704.jpg

IMG_20170910_142934.jpg

IMG_20170910_143019.jpg

IMG_20170910_143006.jpg

And I saw a really cool car that looked like it came from outer space and a pair of grassy flip flops that seemed really comfortable and quite funny! I almost wanted to buy them, but they where a bit too pricey.

IMG_20170910_143644.jpg

IMG_20170910_142153.jpg

Table Rock Beach

When we where done sightseeing in the city I looked for a less crowded and more natural beach on the internet, and since I had seen some pictures of a beach in Laguna that was surrounded by cliffs I knew there had to be another smaller and maybe not as touristy beach. It turned out there are many! There are at least 10 different small beaches along the coastline outside of Laguna Beach, but after reading that Table Rock was the one that many locals preferred to go to we decided to go there too.

And it was beautiful!

IMG_20170910_152830.jpg

GOPR0536.JPG

GOPR0537.JPG

GOPR0538.JPG

GOPR0540_Moment.jpg

GOPR0540_Moment2.jpg

GOPR0540_Moment3.jpg

The water was so clear and cool, it felt amazing to swim in it! But the tides where also really strong and there where some rocks around so we had to be a bit careful when getting in and out of the water. There are lifeguards on all the beaches so that made it feel safer to swim.

GOPR0559.JPG

GOPR0564.JPG

We stayed at Table Rock Beach until the sundown, and enjoyed the dim light when the sun got partially covered by the clouds. During the sundown we saw three families taking family photos with a professional photographer, and no wonder, this was definitely the perfect surrounding and light for a photo shoot.

There was also a man in a powered parachute that flew by and waved at all the people at the beach, his silhouette looked really cool against the setting sun.

GOPR0569_Moment.jpg

GOPR0603.JPG

GOPR0580_Moment.jpg

GOPR0580_Moment1.jpg

GOPR0580_Moment2.jpg

This was such a wonderful day, the weather and the ocean were perfect and the beach was really beautiful! I recommend it to anyone visiting Laguna Beach.

Please do comment if you have any suggestions of other nice beaches or places to visit in Southern California!

My name is Mia, and I am a psychology student from Finland currently studying acting in Long Beach, California!

If you want to know more about me here is my introduction post.

And here is the last post in the my exchange series, My exchange #12 - journal of acting class where I discuss the inner critic of our minds that is restricting our lives by telling what we should not be doing - or else we might embarrass ourselves!

Thank you for checking in, and I do hope that you enjoyed the photos!

mialinnea

Sort:  

I am very satisfied to see all your posts are so nice all nice from urban to food and beautiful beaches

Aww, thank you :)

The view from there is amazing, especially with the waves hit the rocks and make a big splash is just amazing to see it and don't forget cliff jumping.

Oh, you have been there? I wanted to do cliff jumping but I thought that the tides where to strong and I didn't know where would be the best spot for it. Yes the water splashing against the rocks was definitely majestic!

A weak man is just by accident. A strong but non-violent man is unjust by accident.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Cali looks so awesome :D I'm really jealous you get to see all these beautiful places. I hope you're having a great time there and everything is going good with school and stuff :) and great post!

Cali is awesome ^_^ school is really good and I like it a lot here! I'm still trying to find my way on steemit but I'm starting to get there :)

Congratulations @mialinnea! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75