Camping at Nahmint Lake, BC - The Way Up (alcohol inks & resin on up-cycled saw blade) *bonus* My Biolite Review

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190214_130414_111.jpg

I spent a long time looking up at the giant Douglas Firs on our 3 month camping trip. They must have been 500 years old. My son was 10 months old and we counted the rings on this stump. It was about 175 years old and the trees around us were many times its size!

20180606_105304 (3).jpg

20180610_212208 (2).jpg

It rained for two weeks and most of the time we were under the tarp my husband has set up, cooking panzerotto and cookies . We used a biolite stove. You feed sticks into it and there is a pizza stone. Once you figure it out; it makes the best food ever! It is a bit tricky when it is raining and we used an electric inflator to blow air in and start the fire going.

20180605_171056 (2).jpg

One criticism (and I am not sure if they have updated it in the 2.0 version) is that there is a fan that kicks in once you get enough fire going to start the charger. Once we were done cooking, we would have liked to be able to turn the fan off so that the charger would hold the power so that we could use it to charge things. Instead, it blows through the power trying to keep the flame lit. If you want it for delicious food, then go for it but if you want it for charging, then that feature seems kind of gimmicky in my opinion. Although, so long as you have a strong fire going, you can indeed charge your batteries. It allows you to stay for longer in the woods than if you had to worry about running our of fuel (assuming you are near wood that you can burn).

serveimage.jpg

https://www.bioliteenergy.com/products/campstove-2

I am not affiliated in any way, I just loved this stove!

20180610_212306 (2).jpg

Back to the painting! This piece was fortunately sold to a lovely lady that owns a guest house in Revelstoke, BC on opening night of my show, See the Forest for the Trees.

Thanks for stopping by and follow me if you want to see more of my art and travels!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69