Famous Clogs - Visit Card of Netherlands!

in #travel6 years ago

Not far from Zaandam city in the Netherlands the Zaanse Schans open-air museum is located.

This very popular place looks like the old village with mills, bridges, small buildings and other facilities of life during previous centuries.

16.jpg

One place among these interesting objects is very special.

It is Clog workshop. Here there are expositions about history of appearance and evolution of clogs, ...

13.jpg

14.jpg

8.jpg

different clogs models including wedding clogs with the names of bride and groom as well as clogs for born babies,...

9.jpg

special metal platforms that in the middle centuries protected shoes from street dirt...

7.jpg

as well as equipment for clogs production.

18.jpg

Also you will be able to participate in master class and ...

3.jpg

2.jpg

to learn the process and stages of clogs’ carving.

6.jpg

11.jpg

And finally very positive girl will wish you good luck!

15.jpg

Sort:  

Interesting and informative information!
Beautiful pictures!
I did not know that clogs originated in the Netherlands.
Never saw the machines on which they were making clogs.
I still have a question: was it really convenient to walk in clogs? And they did not rub their feet?
I would not mind having a clogs painted small in the form of a souvenir.

Thanks a lot for your reply and questions? As guide explained the thick woolen socks should be put on for convenient to walk. Also small clogs as magnets and keychains are very popular souvenirs:D

Thanks for the explanation!

lovely pics
thanks for bringing me back down memory lane :)

I like this place very much and very glad to share the positive emotions! Thanks a lot for your warm reply :D

Excellent photo trip to the Netherlands. I like this story. Beautiful and interesting photos!

Netherlands are excellent always. Many thanks for your positive reply!

That's fascinating and I had never seen carved clogs before.

I am glad that this post was informative for you. Thank you very much for your pleasant reply :D

I like this travel and story... cool

I am glad :D Thank you!

The clogs look very lovely but I doubt many will wear them outside... It might be nice to hang them on the wall as decoration.

Also that clog with horns look like it came out from a fantasy movie, something a dwarf or elf would wear! I wonder what occasion those are for? Thanks for sharing!

Thank you very much for your reply! Concerning these unique clogs let me note that these clogs from the 9th century are traditional shoes for brides in Pyrenees and were a gift to future bride on Christmas evening :D

In my opinion, the person who created this is someone who has art, they are creative people

Thank you very much for your opinion! I have the same one :D

If you donate 1 SBD or STEEM to @a-a-a I will resteem your last post to over 72,500 followers on my 2 accounts @a-a-a and @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95