Wonderful White Rock - City by the Sea B.C. Canada - Travel with me Series

in #travel6 years ago

I'm saying Hello from Canada, my dear steemians!!

I wasn't active these last past days, so sorry about that cause I wasn't able to see how are you guys doing! So, what's new for you? Everything OK? If you ask me, I'm doing fine, enjoying my vacation, spending time with the family here overseas. It's been a great time so far!

Today I want to share with you my experience at this beautiful city by the sea, White Rock! Long and wide beach, clean air, happy people, amazing environment!

First, lets make a quick presentation of this beautiful city!


White Rock is a beautiful city in British Columbia and a member municipality of Metro Vancouver. 

According to Wikipedia,  White Rock is named for a distinctive large white boulder on its beach near the promenade, a glacial erratic that migrated south during the last glaciation. The 486-ton granite boulder was kept white by shellfish-eating seabirds whose guano covered the rock, so much so that 19th-century sailors used it as a beacon. However, it is now kept white through monthly applications of white paint by the city parks department, and has been a popular grafitti target for over thirty years. 

The pier and promenade are popular destinations, but do not allow dogs, bicycles or skateboards. These areas are very busy during the warmer summer months, especially when it comes to line-ups for gelato or fish and chips. 

Every year in July, there is this beautiful event, the city hosts the Tour de White Rock, a bicycle road race that attracts over 150 local and international riders.  And in August, within the first week, on White Rock beach is held a festival named Spirit of the Sea Festival, which includes a parade, fireworks, music stages, a sandcastle competition and many other activities.


I ate the best ice cream ever here, at Dolce Gelato, a small ice cream italian place! 

Baklava Ice Cream - honey and cinnamon, Pistacchio and Pecans

For an ice cream cup, you pay 5 canadian dollars, or for two flavors you pay 8 canadian dollars, and for three flavours its 10 CAD. But its totally worthed! 

We ate at Charlie's Kitchen + Bar. A real nice food place, with a diverse menu and a delicious one! You can have whatever you want, from pasta and pizza to salads and soups, start up menu, meats, and of course their famous fish and chips! 

I had a salad, gluten free and vegetarian! Kale and Quinoua Power Salad. It was so delicious, so fresh! They use only local products! 

The price was fine, I guess. 14 CAD, meaning 11 USD. What I like here is that you get free water everywhere! Maybe it sounds weird, but in Romania we don't have this. You'll never recieve water (or iced water) for free!! And the waiters were really nice and kind!! 

And we also had this Kangoli Salmon Bowl, at 20 CAD, 16 USD!! Absolutely delicious!! 


More photos from my trip here! Enjoy!


Here you can pay to spend some hours on the ocean on a boat to see some whales, if you're lucky! I didnt take the tour, maybe I'll get it next time when I'll come here! I think it costs around 60-70 CAD. 

I saw so many seagulls here.

Some sea shells from this beautiful beach...

Some boys at 10-13 years that were singing on the street for some dollars! Great initiative!


These was my first post of the Canada Trip Series from the many that will come! Follow me if you want to stay touned!

And don't forget to stay healthy! cause I'll be back for more articles on health and food! 

Love, 

Miss Deli

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! ALL THESE PHOTOS WERE TAKEN WITH MY SAMSUNG S8.  

You can also take a look at my healthy food recipes if you're interested!

Pineapple Berries and Psyllium Husk Smoothie

Herbal Lemonade 🍋🍸🍋🍸 Raspberries Lavander Thyme Rosemary and Mint Lemonade

Baked Potato Wedges with Creamy Dip and Fresh Veggie Sticks 

Chia Seeds Pudding Healthy Breakfast 

Herbal Tea Please!  

Quinoa Flakes Porridge and Fruits Breakfast Bowl  

~ Thank you very much for your support!! ~ 

Sort:  

Welcome to Canada

I am in BC Canada (as well).

Should you decide to drive through to Alaska, give me a shout as I live up north BC, all the way to Alaska Highway 😊

Cheers,
trythisone (2).jpg

Unfortunately, I'm not planning to visit that area but thanks! If I will, I will let you know! thanks so much though! :)

I really enjoyed this post. I think Canada is a very special place, although i've never been myself, but would love to go one day. In the mean time I can enjoy your experience through steemit. Look forward to your next post.

Thank you! Yes, Canada is awesome by far. I really love this place, the nature is great! all green here! you will see in my next posts! :x

What a charming place and your great photos make me feel like I'm there with you strolling around that bay :) And that ice-cream... delish!!!

Yes, it it such an amazing place. I plan to go there again at least once! Haha, I like you felt that way, thats the idea with this post! thank you very much:)

My dear @missdeli, I'm so happy for you! This is gonna be an amazing vacation! Looking forward for more posts with interesting information and beautiful photos. Very performant your Samasung S8!!! Must buy one as well. Enjoy every moment there!!! Bless you!

Thank you my dear! yes, you can buy that one!:x

Canada is awesome! I have been to Vancouver once! :) Have a nice trip! :)

I didnt saw Vancouver yet,just at the airport but I'll be visiting there in the next few days. And yes, Canada is awesome and I just saw a small piece of it! Thank you very much!

Such lovely photos that you have taken. Thanks for sharing! The gelato and salmon look really delicious. I would love to be able to experience the farmers markets.

Thank you very much! Yes, the food was soooo delicious! I would love to do that too, until now I couldnt make it. ;x

Great excuse to go back at least!

Enjoy your vacation! 💕
Canada este un loc foarte important pentru mine și știu că are o mulțime de locuri frumoase de vizitat, mă bucur să descopăr unul dintre ele prin postarea ta. Hugs! 😊

Multumesc! Ai fost aici? ARE UN MILION DE LOCURI DE VIZITAT! Sunt frustrata ca nu le pot vedea pe toate, mor de ciuda:)) hugs for you too

Nu, din pacate nu am ieșit niciodată din tara. Dar cu siguranță când ajung trebuie sa fie un trip de minim 3 luni ca sa vad cat mai multe :))

si eu simt la fel. Eu stau aproape 2 luni aici dar parca tot nu e de ajuns.

Te invidiez :D bucura.te cât poți de mult și fugi și explorează munții/lacurile/cascadele/peșterile și tot ce prinzi!! :)
Pup, ai grija de tine 💕

Looks like some fine weather in BC, Spring in Canada is probably amazing! I look forward to seeing more from your travels. That salmon bowl looks incredible!

Ohh wow. The weather is insane so far! not even a day raining and I've been here from 8-9 days. Yeah, the salmon was sooo good, very spicy though. Thank you, like always :)

That's a really good post. You put a lot of effort in it, with good photos and information's. You are working for the Minister of Tourism in Canada? :P
Very good job, congratulations!

Thank you very much, I tried my best :p :)

Welcome to Canada! Thanks for giving us a virtual tour of the White Rock. I heard about it but I didn't make it so far all the way on the West Coast. Enjoy your vacation!

Thank you @lymepoet! and you're welcome as well! White Rock is beautiful, I liked it very much! I will enjoy for sure! dont want to leave this place :X:x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01