Cruising the San Blas Islands

in #travel6 years ago



The trip started from Panama City. A city known for its canal, canal and its canal. Yes, there isn’t much excitement in Panama City. I’m sure some people will disagree, but I didn’t find it the best of places. The old quarter is actually being renovated and it’s looking rather nice there now. Some nice colonial buildings give the area some character. The rest of Panama is just a big sweaty city with, did I mention a canal?




The Panama Canal is impressive. No two ways about it, it’s one of man’s great achievements, and goes to show what we can achieve when we put our minds to it. We’ve certainly come a long way since our hunter-gatherer days. The canal is 77km waterway that connects the Pacific Ocean with the Atlantic Ocean. France actually started work on it in 1881, but due to technical difficulties and a high mortality rate, they gave up.




The United States then took over work and completed the canal by 1914. It takes between 6-8 hours to pass through the canal, and since it opened there has been a staggering 334 million vessels cut through the Panama Canal. I went for a few hours to see it in operation, and it might not be the most exciting thing to watch, but it is a very impressive piece off engineering.




I left the smog of Panama City for a five-day crossing from Panama to Cartagena, Colombia. Three days cruising through the idyllic San Blas Islands before a 36 hour crossing across to Colombia. I had my boat booked and I was ready for the life.




Idyllic is quite a stereotypical word to use for tropical islands, but if there is ever a word more suited to the San Blas Islands, its idyllic. They comprise of about 350 islands off the coast of mainland Panama and stretch down to the border of Colombia. About only 40 are inhabited, but only by the local Guna people.




Hispanic Panamanians are not allowed to live on these islands, and no tourist is allowed to sleep there. There are no hotels on the islands and one has to stay on the boat you’re cruising in. It’s a hard life at times. Anyway, I spent 3 days with my newest group of friends cruising and seeing these amazingly idyllic islands, fishing for dinner, snorkeling and swimming to islands, some big enough to host only one tree. A coconut tree of course.




I’ve been to many a tropical island and this archipelago are as nice as any I’ve seen. Crystal clear, turquoise water laps up onto every white powdered beach on every one of the San Blas’ islands. Sometimes it’s difficult not to sound stereotypical but to spend three days cruising these islands, leaving my temporary footprint on every little beach skipping over the unhinged broken coconut shells and carefree starfishes, it really is the life.




After leaving the San Blas behind we set sail for a 36-hour crossing over to Cartagena. There were 12 of us on the boat and we all enjoyed sitting on the deck chatting, drinking beers and eating the most delectable lobster, while we sped across the Caribbean to Cartagena. Where we all finally entered Colombia to go off on our ways. I’ll save writing about Cartagena until I write about Colombia, because this journey is really all about the idyllic San Blas Islands. I recommend.




Sort:  

I loved Panama when i was there!, I invite you to read my Panama Review!

Please send a link and I will gladly read it.

Wow, I've never even heard of these islands. looks like I need to head out to Panama. How was Colombia? I've always wanted to go there.

Panama City is famous for panama paprs world wide by the amzaing pictures really wonderful keep it up man :)

You're welcome my friend :)

nice article @mojorisin
loved the way you picture Panama City,
if i could just relocate over😊

Thanks. I'm sure Panama City is better than I gave it credit for, but I didn't enjoy it that much.

sorry about that,
but trust me you did a great work 👍🙌

Liking your review here on these islands! We were in Panama earlier in the year, and we decided not to visit San Blas but travel to the west of the country. Also there we visited Bocas del Toro which I didnt like at all. But that is from the perspective from somebody living on a bounty island, so maybe I am a bit prejudiced hahaha.

Oke so San Blas is back on the to do list!
(And yeah I disagree to your Panama city opinion hahaha, I LOVED it there! Hahaha)

Yeah, I really need to get back to Panama and see the country. Panama City, as you say, is probably much better than I give it credit for, but I would like to see more of the place though. San Blas Islands are amazing, though!

I simply love your photos, great quality @mojorisin !!
You should visit my blog it includes pictures of beautiful places in my country you'll love it.
@hatimbenya

Thank you @mojorisin and if you wanna visit my country you're welcome.

Yes, for sure. All of North Africa is on my to do list.

All of North Africa is amazing, welcome friend @mojorisin

Wow great photos and amazing island

Wow amazing place! Hopefuly I can get there one day!

It is and I obviously recommend it.

This post has received a 78.57 % upvote from thanks to: @mojorisin.
For more information, click here!!!!

The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77