Adventures in the Mountains: Excursion 1- Creede, Colorado

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit,

I'm new here, I hope everyone enjoys my first post.

Ever since I was a little girl I wanted to see more of this beautiful country. I loved growing up in Florida near the beach, but that didn't stop me from wanting to go see different places. Along my life's journey we have ended up in Colorado and I couldn't be happier. The abundance of wildlife astounds me on nearly a daily basis. The views from our house at nearly 9000 ft. above sea level just outside of Boulder, Colorado are simply breath-taking. My family and I (husband and 3 sons) love to experience the outdoors and natural wonders we are surrounded by. Come along with us on our journeys, get excited, and be amazed.

Our first excursion details a recent trip we took deep in the mountains to a private cabin owned by some friends of ours near Creede, Colorado.
Here are two of my sons standing in front of our friend's cabin:

FB_IMG_1498346664996.jpg

Check out that awesome skull on the exterior cabin wall!

FB_IMG_1498346583994.jpg

Here is an awesome shot of the mountains when we first arrived with my youngest son in the photo:

FB_IMG_1498346697064.jpg

Creede, Colorado is located at 37°50'58"N 106°55'34"W and sits near the headwaters of the Rio Grande. Creede, Colorado and it's surrounding areas are renowned for their fly fishing. Admittedly, I can't say from experience since my husband and sons had no luck. Here is a shot of the footbridge on our friend's property where we had no luck fishing (don't mind Bella in the water):

FB_IMG_1498346616532.jpg

Here is another shot of the Rio Grande near where we tried our hands at fly-fishing:

FB_IMG_1498346606988.jpg

Here is a gorgeous panoramic shot I took while my husband and sons played:

FB_IMG_1498346571266.jpg

We got really lucky when later that day my girlfriend and I were able to catch a Moose playing in the lake when we went to town to get food. Check him out!

After fishing we hiked up local Hogback Mountain to catch some views, here is a gorgeous sunset shot I took of the hogback so you could see just how aptly named it is:

FB_IMG_1498346560786.jpg

We started to lose the day's light as we climbed Hogback so we had to abort the mission, but check out the shot I took from about half-way up:

FB_IMG_1498346551904.jpg

On the hike back down Hogback, across the field and into the pasture near the cabin we were able to get a couple amazing sunset photos. This sure was the perfect weekend excursion high in the mountains of Colorado:

FB_IMG_1498346509851.jpg

FB_IMG_1498346498686.jpg

Thanks for reading! Upcoming excursions include Red Rocks Park and Ampitheater, Estes Park, Manitou Springs, amazing shots of the Great Divide, nature shots, and close encounters with wildlife just to name a few!

Sort:  

Resteemed for the new lady. Nice post, ty. Can't wait to read more.

Thanks! Can't wait to share more with everyone.

Welcome to Steemit @mountainlady :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome aboard! Great pictures! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Congratulations @mountainlady! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mountainlady! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64