My Trip back to my Home(town)!

in #travel6 years ago

During the Summer (when I went on hiatus) I spent my summer vacation for a month back home. This was met with a little stress because my family moved, so I had to figure a way of getting out to them. First off though, I landed in my hometown of Aberdeen, South Dakota.

Aberdeen is a small town of about 25,000 people. L. Frank Baum, author of The Wizard of Oz lived there for three years. So, the town rides that point of trivia to death, building a whole children's theme park around it and having the city slogan be, "Come write your story in Aberdeen!" Might be a little harsh on the city for that, but come on, he spent a fraction of his life there.

Anyways, the city developed around a booming hub of train tracks, so the city has the nickname of The Hub City. Now since trains arn't so essential the University trys to be a cultural hub. Always thought that was a cool way of adapting to the times.

20180809_115956.jpg

20180809_115951.jpg Downtown Aberdeen in its glory lol

20181008_151424.png A muffin and house brew from my favorite coffee shop The Red Rooster

Now, actually coming back filled me with mixed emotions. You come back hoping that after time all things would improve, but that can't always be the rule.

Let's start with some good news.

My old restraunt is doing much better! After a renovation went wrong and the place flooded I found myself looking for a new job my last semester of college. Wasn't hard, but I being there from the start, I grew attached and loved the place. Coming back to seeing my old bosses with a place that fit their vision and a new food truck to boot was great to see! I believe I have talked about them before so I won't linger. Here is a link to their page and you can find them on Facebook as well :)

My friends are doing better. I have three very close friends back home and seeing that they are all doing better in their lives. First, one is starting his first year of college pursuing a degree in criminal justice, taking him around the campus was a little nostalgic for me ha

Then, another has become the foreman at his construction job, making more money than me. Finally, my last friend has cut down drinking and been maintaining a stable job, which seeing him have a little more freedom and being genuinely happy was a pleasure or all of us. They have all moved in together renting a whole home, which will be great on all of them financially.

The last spot of good news was that my Korean friend from college came to see me from New York. He's been working for a company that sends him around for sales, so he managed to make a trip up and see a lot us. It seems ironic to see a Korean friend when I come back home, but his dream was to stay in America. Now though he seems conflicted with staying now, at least he got this experience and see if it is what he really wants.

Now for the Bad

Meth, it tears communities apart and mine is no different. I stayed with a loved one while I was home, and the effects the drug has people around this person is tearing their life apart. Constant paranoia, not their significant other is high or not, or even responible for takong care of the children while they work, and the fighting. I honestly avoided the home while I was in town and opted to sleep on my friends' couch because I didn't wanna be involved in confrontation with police or hear them argue.

This isn't an isolated case either, taking my friend around campus and meeting my old professors, they straight up told me and him don't come back and live here. The problem of meth is just rampant in my town.

My friends and I have work'ed' with tweakers (meth addicts) as well, so we all know the danger. They say, "Oh, when I smoke, I work faster." Sure man, you're faster to cut yourself, do a sloppy job, and disappear for a half hour. Now it may seem like the pot calling the kettle black, because we're all stoners. But, we pay our bills on time and I rarely worked stoned, because I know it makes me groggy and I don't like feeling that way in the kitchen.

It is sad how so many people in my community are affected by this drug without even doing it. I hope these problems would clean up and be better when I come back, but I know they won't.

All in All

Being home was good, it made me realize that I can't go back. Not saying I will live my life in Korea, because already I'm feeling ready for a change. As much as I want to come back home, the only reassuring things in Aberdeen are The Brass Kettle and my homies that I could never replace.

Next week, I'll cover a camping trip we made to Colorado. Then, seeing my parents since this got kinda long.




I tend to write about life in Korea as a foreigner, food, photos from trips, and things teaching related. If that interest you and you like this post, please give me a vote and follow
Fellow minnows can use Busy and Steemfollower to get more upvotes and followers, my referral links are below respectively:
https://busy.org/i/@mr-bike
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14715
Until then,
Ride on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56