Cycling the World #01 [Steemit Exclusive]

in #travel6 years ago

Let's get on the road to freedom!

The last 10 Years I set in a room in from of a screen, wasting my life to the digital world. Now I want to turn it around. See the other side. The real world out there. The sunsets, the people, the landscapes, the life and wonders.

I'm starting out as a total novice. My aim is to use Steemit to learn, connect, enable & share about my cycling adventures. But before one can cycle, one needs to learn to walk. Which means building a Bike that can carry me around the world. My budget for is this next to ZERO - so i have to take what I can find, you can share or friends can gift.

So, you can imagine that I'm not going to get a 1000€ bike. Instead I will go as cheap as possible. Step one was to get a somewhat decent Trekking bike. I found this 10 year old, used Aluminium bike for 120€. It's very light and pretty ok. But it still needs a lot of work. But let's look at the positive side first!

01.jpg

Traveling the Globe

Luckily Europe is connected by land to most of the world. 3 Continents can be reached without ever touching water. Europe, Africa and Asia. So, of course the first goal is to travel east. Along that travel I hope to meet a lot of you, as friends, hosts and fellow Steemers.

map.png

On the road!

Traveled so far: 507 km

I'm still at home, still building my bike and getting all things ready. Recently I took a little test ride for 103 km in one day. Keep in mind that I am totally untrained.
map02.png

Things I hope to share here

  • experience
  • advice
  • travel journal
  • feedback
  • meeting new friends
  • documentation
  • how-to-do

Help Needed

I still need a ton of stuff before can really get started. Used Gear and SBD or Steem Donations would go a long way. And yes, I'm saying that right here and now: I'm here because I want and need you help. In return, I share as much of what i learn and see as I can.

Parts still needed:

  • Bike Bags Back (watertight)
  • Bike Bags Front (watertight)
  • Bicycle rack Back (min. 30kg)
  • Bicycle rack Front (min. 10kg)
  • Very Light Tent
  • Very Light Hamock + Mosquito Net
  • Camping Stove + Gas Cadridges
  • Compass
  • New Cellphone (for Bike Maps and Documentation)
  • Powerbank (for Cellphone)
  • Pocket Camera (GPS + watertight) for Documentation)
  • Headlight (my head)
  • Safety west with reflector stripes
  • watertight cycling trousers (long)
  • Dog Guard (little sound device to deter attacking dogs)
  • 2 extra spokes + spoke tool
  • splash-guard (back + front)
  • 2 good Bike Locks (for frame and tires)
  • Solar Panel (getting power on the go)

Things I already got

  • Used Cycling Helmet (Gifted from Moritz)
  • Back wheel reflectors (1€)
  • Used straight handlebar (for mounting Rest Bar) 4€
  • Used Rest Bar 5€
  • Multi Tool for Bike repairs (13€ - not the best but I was in a hurry)
  • Extra bike tube (6€ - got to be a new on if it's a backup one)
  • tire lever (Part of the Multi Tool)
  • First Aid Kit (3€ - pretty basic, but some good stuff in there)

Ways to support me

You want to help? That's amazing! You rock!

To get all the advice in one place and make discussing things a bit easier, I created a Discord channel.
Join the Discord to chat: https://discord.gg/6Jcu7w9

I really hope you do join, because you (the community) are the master mind of this operation and I have SO MUCH to learn from you. You are the experts, hopefully some day I'm going to be an expert too, be learning from you. In the mean time, I will share everything I learned :)

steem-gif.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62767.81
ETH 2942.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55