Welcome to Iran

in #travel6 years ago
How I ended up in Iran without money or any clear means of obtaining it

DSC01708.jpg
The graffiti on the wall of the former USA Embassy


So, I got the ticket Dushanbe - Tehran, applied for the visa in time and it seemed that all was set.
But no, in reality it was much more complicated. Iran is under the USA sanctions which made their banking system isolated from the rest of the world. For me it meant that my MasterCard and Visa cards are not gonna work there, AT ALL. The ATMs are only accepting local cards.


DSC01506.jpg


Even though I knew that before, I was stupid enough to forget about it and so I didn't cash out any money beforehand.
Only during the boarding to the plane I remembered about it and suddenly I saw the future in different colors, it seemed that I reached the whole new level of difficulty after Pamir.
In the plane a man told me that I can cash out my money in a specific bank, so the situation appeared to be not so grave as before.
I only had 100$ in my pocket which was barely enough to pay for the visa. But at least I got it and they let me in the Islamic Republic of Iran.


DSC01503.jpg


I talked with locals only to find out that it was some kind of religious holiday (unsurprisingly, holidays and weekends seem to always get in my way) and everything was, of course, closed.
Then I found a driver who agreed to take me to the city, in some musofirkhoneh (cheap hotel/hostel for locals), and take his fee from its management. It is remarkable that he didn't even tried to scam me, even though at first we arrived to a 35$ hotel, which was unacceptable. I insisted on a cheaper option and after 3 more attempts we found a 15$ musofirkhoneh. They paid the driver and let me stay now and pay later. Those dimes I still had left I spent that same evening for some food.


DSC01560.jpg


Next morning I went to the bank and eventually found out that it isn't possible get outside money through their banking system, even through the Central Bank. So I started to look for the money exchange services as I heard that some of them can cash out your money, but with some commission.
I visited lots of them, with no avail. Western Union was closed and I suspect it wouldn't help anyway.
So I resorted to the last place I could think of - the Russian Consulate in Tehran.


DSC01629.jpg


I met with the consul, explained my situation, proposed to transfer some money to him in exchange for cash, and waited for a couple of hours for them to make the decision which turned out to be negative.


DSC01635.jpg


Higher-ups forbidden him to accept any transfers from me. But at least he introduced me to an iranian guy who had some business related to tourism and getting russian visas in particular. He was there for this exact reason.
He also had a russian bank account and needed money outside of Iran, so I made the transfer of 1000$ to him and got the precious cash, to our mutual benefit.


More pics:
DSC01564.jpg

DSC01632.jpg

DSC01571.jpg

DSC01654.jpg

DSC01658.jpg

DSC01683.jpg

DSC01720.jpg

To be continued...

Previous post: Exhausting ride along the border of Afghanistan

Check out my travel blog:
Tajikistan: 7, 8, 9, 10
Kyrgyzstan: 4, 5, 6
Kazakhstan: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Duuuuude... what?! That's quite a story to tell... Good luck for Iran, what are you visiting beside Tehran?

I forgot the timestamp, that was 2 months ago. I went around the country and later left for Turkey.

Cool photos! Wow I really want to go to Iran.

It is an extremely beautiful country, you should definitely go there. Just, you know, don't forget to take some cash...

Haha yes! Thank you :-)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nameless-berk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=welcome-to-iran


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

They accept dollars in Iran? Woo, murcia!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

This post has received a 23.60% upvote from thanks to: @nameless-berk.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


Do you know, you can also earn daily passive income simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper by clicking following links: 10SP, 100SP, 500SP, 1000SP or Another amount

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68369.19
ETH 3893.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66