My first solo winter walk – to a gentle Glencoe giant

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I've wanted to climb Buachaille Etive Beag, a distinctive mountain in Glencoe, Scotland, for so long. So when I had a Friday free, and the weather forecast looked fantastic, I contacted all my hillwalking friends and asked them if they wanted to join me.

15 Looking west to ridge of Stob Dubh and Loch Etive from summit of Stob Coire Raineach GORGEOUS.jpg

Unfortunately, none of my friends were available that day. It looked like I would have to go alone.

Buachaille Etive Beag means "The little shepherd of Etive". This mountain is far from being little – it has two summits connected by a ridge, and both of its main summits are "munros" – peaks at an altitude of at least 3000 ft/914m.

4 Buachaille Etive Beag from the road.jpg

Buachaille Etive Beag is overshadowed both in altitude and in distinction by its famous next-door neighbour, Buachaille Etive Mor, which is one of Scotland's most iconic mountains.

62 Buachaille Etive Mor in late afternoon sunset, with Buachaille Etive Beag peeking out from behind.jpg

Most hillwalkers refer to these mountains as "the big Bookle" and "the wee Bookle".

Buachaille Etive Mor means "The great shepherd of Etive." I don't know how it got its name, but my guess is that this magnificent mountain has probably been a landmark for travellers through the ages, and that long before the A82 highway was constructed, if you were lost, the sight of Buachaille Etive Mor could help you get your bearings and find your way back home.

2 Buachaille Etive Mor sunrise wider.jpg

I've climbed many mountains on my own before, but not in winter. Winter mountain walking in snow is a different ballgame. I only bought crampons and an ice axe a few weeks ago, and I've done just a few winter walks.

Boots and crampons.jpg

I thought Buachaille Etive Beag would be a good mountain for my first solo winter walk because not only is it a relatively easy Munro to climb – it's also a very popular hillwalk, so I knew there would probably be lots of other people around on a sunny winter day. I was unlikely to find myself totally alone on the mountain.

I wanted to start my walk as early as possible, to get as much daylight as I could. However I didn't want to be the first person on the mountain that morning. I felt quite nervous, especially about walking along the ridge, so I was hoping I could follow in someone else's footsteps!

My luck was in. I arrived at the car park just as some other walkers were setting off.

By the time I'd got my boots and gaiters on, there were at least four walkers ahead of me. The path up the hillside soon disappeared under the snow, and by the time the bealach (lowest point between two peaks) was in sight, the snow was knee-deep and quite difficult to walk in. Yet this walk was considerably easier than the other winter walks I'd done.

8 People heading up the snowy mountainside.jpg

As I walked up the hill the early morning sunshine threw a beautiful pastel glow on Beinn Fhada, a mountain in the Bidean nam Bian massif.

9 Early morning sunlight on Beinn Fhada (Bidean) better.jpg

The Aonach Eagach ridge was basking in a golden glow.

6 Early morning sunlight on the Aonach Eagach.jpg

I had intended to walk to Buachaille Etive Beag's most south-westerly summit, Stob Dubh, first, as the clear sunny weather wasn't expected to last beyond midday, and I wanted to see the views out to the west.

When I reached the bealach and looked up the steep incline to the start of the ridge leading to Stob Dubh. It looked so beautiful, but terrifyingly steep to me, with not one single footprint in the snow.

14 Looking up to start of ridge leading to Stob Dubh from bealach (Mam Buidhe) Gorgeous!.jpg

All the other walkers were heading up in the other direction, towards the slightly lower northeastern summit, Stob Coire Raineach, so I decided to follow in their footsteps.

13 Stob a Coire Raineach from bealach (Mam Buidhe).jpg

I wondered if I'd need to put on my crampons. The gradient was very steep, but not icy, so the crampons stayed in my backpack.

It was surprisingly easy to walk on the thin, powdery snow, and I reached the first summit two hours after leaving the car park.

22 Me at summit of Stob Coire Raineach.jpg

There were dramatic views north up Glencoe with Loch Leven in the distance.

17 Bidean and Stob Coire Sgreamhach from summit of Stob Coire Raineach.jpg

This is a close-up of Loch Leven with the hills of Ardgour behind.

16 Loch Leven and Loch Linnhe zoomed and Ardgour hills Sgurr a'Chaorainn, Beinn na h-Uamha, Sgurr Dhomhnuill and others beyond, from summit of Stob Coire Raineach.jpg

Views to the east with the sun on the Mamores:

20 Mamores with glowing ligh.jpg

And over to the west, towards the ridge I would soon be walking along:

25 Looking up to Stob Dubh summit lovlier.jpg

After taking in the glorious views, I headed back down to the bealach. By this time a group of people on a winter skills course had arrived. They were learning about avalanche awareness. Buachaille Etive Beag is a popular location for winter skills courses.

28 Group trekking over Mam Buidhe (bealach) fuller shot.jpg

I climbed up to the unnamed peak that marks the start of the ridge, at 902m. It was so, SO much easier to climb the steep incline than I had feared. I had imagined slipping and sliding all over the place, but the snow was much more stable than it had looked from below.

This was the view I was greeted with at the top:

55 Looking back along ridge, with sunbeams.jpg

This was the view looking back in the other direction, to Stob Coire Raineach, the peak I had just climbed:

31 Looking back to summit of Stob Coire Raineach from beginning of ridge.jpg

The wind strengthened significantly as I reached the start of the ridge, and I put on my balaclava.

The ridge was much broader than I'd imagined when I was tossing and turning the night before, imagining myself being swept over the mountainside by a big gust of wind, or stepping onto an unstable snow cornice and tumbling down the steep southwestern face.

I felt completely safe, and it was easy to see which bits to avoid.

33 Looking up to summit of Stob Dubh from start of ridge.jpg

There were a few tricky sections just before the second and highest summit, Stob Dubh, where deep snowdrifts made climbing up the final steep bit quite difficult, and getting down even worse! But every slip had a very soft landing.

49 Stob Dubh summit with man near top.jpg

Luckily the weather stayed clear, and there were stupendous views at the top, west to Loch Etive:

37 View down Loch Etive from Stob Dubh summit.jpg

and north towards Bidean nam Bian:

43 Bidean from summit of Stob Dubh. Nice.jpg

I felt elated to have reached the second summit in good time, as walking in snow can really slow you down.

40 Summit selfie Stob Dubh.jpg

By this time the other walkers were all out of sight and I thought I was the last walker on the mountain. Then I saw a man walking towards me, and he stopped to admire the view.

46 Man on ridge looking at view better.jpg

On the way back down towards the bealach, I stopped in a sheltered spot and sat on a rock to have my lunch of home-made soup.

Lunch stop.jpg

Then I headed back down the mountain to the car park, admiring the mountains I'd passed earlier, now bathed in late afternoon winter sunlight.

58 Sun setting over Beinn Fhada with aeroplane trail.jpg

I took one last look back at the gorgeous "wee Bookle". It's definitely one of my favourite mountains, and one I will climb again someday!

59 Back at car park and looking back up at Stob Coire Raineach.jpg

Sort:  

After climbing a great hill, one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.
Nelson Mandela

That is SO true, and in more ways than one!

Really nice report and beautiful photos! I really like this image, which I think is the summit shot from the unnamed peak after Stob Coire Raineach …

unnamed peak

Thanks Brandt! Glad you like the image. It was indeed taken from that unnamed peak, looking over to the next summit of Stob Dubh. A beautiful spot.

Awesome stuff. Completely puts my post to shame! I've only seen those mountains without snow when I bicycled toured through there in summer 2014 and again when I did 3 Peaks Challenge in 2015. A gorgeous part of the country. Good on you for getting out there in the freezing cold and getting it done!

Followed you back, by the way!!

Thanks Joseph! I think you're being modest though - your posts are great too. It's a tough job, but someone has to do it ;)
And thanks for the follow.

What a lovely picture, beautiful colors and light! makes me think, i have a few nice pics too of moutains in Norway. wil post them in the future on Steem

Wonderful Scenes I impressed @maanabdullah (Website Designer & Marketer)

Great work, mate. Good article and brilliant photos.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=natubat
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-first-solo-winter-walk-to-a-gentle-glencoe-giant


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

The view of the mountains covered with snow was the first thing that made me practice winter sports. Your shots are amazing (:

Wow! What an amazing adventure, and to think that you did it on your own too - I absolutely love Scotland so much so that it feels like home to me. Great photos too @natubat

Thanks! Yes Scotland is a beautiful country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68