Shocking Terracotta Warriors!

in #travel6 years ago
Today I want to tell you about a wonderful and magical trip I made about 8 years ago, with my dear wife, to China. Being in Beijing studying at the University of Physical Education and Wu Shu (Chinese Martial Arts) after an exhausting week of study and training, arrived on Friday and we said: let's meet the Terracotta Warriors! We prepared our backpacks, we went to the train station in Beijing and amid the bustle of the Chinese crowd and my very little and little knowledge of the Chinese language (Mandarin) I could decipher which was the train that we were going to embark and the number of booths for which we buy the tickets. And so, this adventure began.

separador steemit.jpg

We boarded the train on friday night, they touched the highest beds in a bunk, it was so small that I felt in a capsule, if I raised my head a little, it hit the roof of the train! and my wife at the same height in the front bed. From rest the bed was comfortable and even more sleepy. We talked and talked until the dream defeated us. We traveled all night (12 hours of travel) and at dawn we were in Xi'an (Shaanxi Province where the terracotta warriors are).

separador steemit.jpg

When we woke up, we continued on the train, getting off the beds and sitting on the sides of the windows we could see in the middle of nowhere (I could not say exactly where the route was) old houses carved in the mountain, which were inhabited by residents of this area. The picture is not clear by the speed of the train, but I did not want to stop showing it because it really hit me.

separador steemit.jpg

Then we arrive at the place where the terracotta warriors are. The story goes that two farmers were drilling for water in 1974 and found a great find! They found the terracotta army that I will tell you the legend a little later. The important thing to highlight in these photos that you will see below, is that the government, seeing the importance of the discovery and the delicacy of the pieces, decided not to move them from the place, but to build a great infrastructure there to protect them and that later became This great museum that you can see later, whose name is Qin Shi Huang Mausoleum.

separador steemit.jpg

Inside the museum there are pieces protected by glass to be seen close up, since the pieces that are in the pits can only be seen at a distance.

Until the time of its discovery, the army that had been buried with the First Emperor of China of the Qin Dynasty (Qin Shi Huang) was a legend. Like all legends, it was surrounded by historical data, mysticisms and local beliefs.

From the moment of the discovery until 2009, three graves were found. The first with the majority of the warriors (around 7500), all with totally different features, no face or body position were the same, in addition to being accompanied by terracotta horses with carriages in real size. The second smaller pit (69 warriors) is said to be the generals, and the third pit with only 17 warriors has no beard, so they are said to be young and possibly sons of generals.

Being in this place it is inevitable to feel the energy and strength that these antiquities transmit. I really seemed to be in front of a mystical army that at any moment would break ranks to wage an epic battle, you could see the very human features in the expression of their faces, their clothes, the position of their body that "at any moment I was going to talk". I think that any word or phrase that I use will be short, and I will not be able to express the magical experience that I lived in this place.

separador steemit.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this wonder, which since 1987 is considered a World Heritage Site by Unesco. Until the next story of my travels through ancient China.

Best Regards,
Joan Martínez.

steemit redes.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing such amazing photos from your trip, I want to go to China someday!

Wow awesome picture bro
Regards steemian
@romiyulianda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76