Bitcoin Trip: Brazil - Part 2: Rio de Janiero

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

GOPR4994.JPG

Rio has been high on my list of places to visit for a while now. Not only because of how beautiful I heard it was, but I also have family living there. Distant cousins who I had not met before.

IMG_1135.JPG

One of the first things I realized about Rio, was that it can be a rock climbers paradise. Hundreds of climbing routes in the city with little to no approach.

I had been in contact with a guide before hand, where we agreed to climb a route up Sugarloaf mountain. The problem was, rain was expected for nearly all 4 days I was planning to be there. Our best chances was to climb it the same day I arrived.

GOPR4972.JPG

Most of the time on the route consisted of being in and out of clouds with some very light mist, just enough to have us slightly concerned.

GOPR4985.JPG

The route was a mixed of rock climbing (5.6-5.8) and some hiking/scrambling, which was as fun and exciting as I could have hoped.

GOPR4978.JPG

We got to the summit and were gifted with a gorgeous view of the city, beer, and a cable car ride back down.

IMG_1150.JPG
GOPR4989.JPG
IMG_1158.JPG

The next few days were spent hitting up the normal tourist spots, including Christ the Redeemer..

GOPR4998.JPG

GOPR4995.JPG

It's unfortunate I was unable to experience the full beach experience since it was either cloudy or raining the entire time...but it just gives me a reason to go back!


[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -22.928042 lat -43.187256 long Rio de Janeiro d3scr)

Sort:  

Awesome post man! I'm an OCD curator and I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thanks man! Sure thing you can share it.

I love Rio. I'm not a climber but you're right, there would be lots of good opportunities. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Looks like a very cool trip! Thanks for sharing. Rio is definitely a place I want to visit one day.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=neutrino
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=bitcoin-trip-brazil-part-2-rio-de-janiero


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Nice photos! Brazil sounds nice to visit. I was curious why these posts are tagged with Bitcoin and it seems it is from the ticket being purchased from bitcoin? Or the whole trip? Are you using it otherwise?

It was just the ticket that was bought with bitcoin. I was a little hesitant at first but it all worked out in the end!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50