Reserva Cerro Castillo, Patagonia Chile

in #travel6 years ago

After a long semester, a backpacking trip was exactly the thing I needed to de-stress. Since I was already in Patagonia attending a conference, I decided on Reserva Cerro Castillo. It did not disappoint.

GOPR7156.JPG

Photo 12-10-17, 7 56 56 PM.jpg

The trail starts from the small village of Villa Cerro Castillo and is about a 10 km hike to the entrance of the park (there are several various routes one can take through the park but since my time was limited, I choose this one).

Photo 12-7-17, 12 59 19 PM.jpg

GOPR7087.JPG

The first campsite is in this upper valley, not necessarily with great views, but it is very centralized which came in very handy later on in the trip.

After the first night, I went on a day hike to higher in the valley. At the end is a beautiful cirque where you are greeted with an almost 360 degree view of mountains over a green meadow.

Photo 12-8-17, 5 10 18 PM.jpg

GOPR7111.JPG

The plan for the following day was to move camp. I packed up my things and began making my way up towards the pass. About half way up, I began to experience very heavy winds, but nothing intolerable. A German girl on her way down, warned me things were far worse going up. I decided to continue but indeed things got far worse. The wind was so intense, it as a struggle not to knocked down. Several times I had to get down and grab onto large boulders just to maintain my position. These were the infamous Patagonian Winds....

Photo 12-9-17, 11 52 31 AM.jpg

I retreated back to the campsite and was greeted by the German girl who was also waiting for her friends to descend along the same route. When they finally arrived, we had dinner and laughed over our slightly terrifying experience battling the winds.

Photo 12-10-17, 11 50 22 AM.jpg

The next day, I decided to just take a day hike up to the pass. There was not a single cloud in the sky and just a slight breeze, conditions were perfect. At the top, was a spectacular view of the glacier and the alpine lake.

Photo 12-10-17, 1 02 28 PM.jpg

I made my was back to camp where I packed my things and made my way back to the village. It was the perfect trip, with just the right amount of adventure...

Sort:  

this is a very interesting experience, I have never climbed, read your story I became interested to climb the mountain in central aceh

You should! But remember to stay safe and be prepared.

I'm not so sure but I'd love to give it a try, it looks like a lot of fun

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

From the looks of it, it seems to be an incredibly beautiful area! I can't wait until I have the chance to travel all over South America! Will have to remember this place when I do!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=neutrino
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=reserva-cerro-castillo-patagonia-chile


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

How do I apply for this page to be recognized? I would love to share some of my travel experiences and photos with more people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71