New River Rafting - West Virginia

in #travel6 years ago

All, I'd like to tell you about one of my favorite vacations. In the late summer of 2017, a friend of mine asked me to coordinate his bachelor party (he gave me wide latitude, but said he wanted something outdoors). I arranged a road trip to go rafting in the New River Gorge in West Virginia. Here's a pic:

I wasn't super excited because I was incredibly busy at work, and didn't want to spare the time for a road trip. However, it was phenomenal. We used an outfit called Cantrell's Rafting. They provided lodging and the rafting trip. Very friendly people. Side note: My old job required me to cold call people around the country, based on my experience, people from West Virginia, Tennessee, and the Carolinas are truly the nicest people in the U.S.

The day of the rafting trip was misty, but warm. Because the New River flows up from North Carolina, the water was even warmer. The raft itself was great - it only seated four people and the guide, so we got bounced around more on the rapids, and it was a more intimate experience.

The guide was also great. He stopped every so often so we could jump off of tall boulders. He also had us climb out of the boat and float down the river. We even swam a couple mild rapids (it was a little scary when I got pulled toward a whirlpool).

Also, the accommodations were very nice ($80 per night for a nice cabin that sleeps six!). The cabins are on a lot with a cool country bar, where there's live music every day. Lots of friendly folks to hang out with and talk to in the area.

The bachelor didn't drink or partake in strippers, so we didn't visit the famous WV strip clubs, or do much bar hopping. Instead, we went to some antique stores, ate a lot, and smoked cigars. I also got to hear a lot of cool war stories from a marine who came on the trip.

Overall, the rafting experience was one of my favorite vacations. I've rafted in other parts of the country (Tennessee and Colorado), but I honestly had the most fun on the New River. It's a cheap vacation if you're within driving distance, but it's pretty exciting, and a great way to build a stronger connection with friends and nature, and to meet new people. I highly recommend.

Sort:  

Looks great. Be pretty worried ya start hearing some banjo music play I reckon

WOW...seems like a lot of fun and a great adventure

Thanks, my friend. It was pretty great. Enjoy your Sunday.

It was pretty amazing. I highly recommend it if you ever get the chance. Going rafting in costa rica in a couple months. I'll let you know how that compares.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @neutrondeflector to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75