Visiting Puppet Museum in Old City Jakarta Indonesia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

thumbnail pupper museum.jpg>

On a holiday, we were with my family visiting the Old Town area in West Jakarta. The Old Town area is crowded by citizens, who come from various areas in Jakarta and surrounding areas. I took my children to the museum for introducing children about Indonesian culture, namely wayang, in The Wayang Museum.

IMG_6387.JPG

With cheap tickets price of Rp 4,000, we are in line to enter the museum. After entering the museum, I noticed my children. My children were amazed to see various puppets on display on the right and left sides of the wall. Previously my children did not know the wayang even though their great-grandfather was a puppeteer. Of course they do not know one by one the wayang names in Bharatayudha and Ramayana stories, the story from India.

Nevertheless, our children seem to enjoy looking at wayang collections in the museum, both wayang kulit and wayang golek. But, they do not know the story in the wayang. Similarly, when they see the puppet show "Si Unyil". The children were not born when TVRI showed Si Unyil dolls story.

The Wayang Museum also showcased a gigantic doll called Ondel-Ondel. My children know Ondel-Ondel that Ondel-Ondel is a giant doll from Betawi culture.

IMG_6378.JPG


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thank you so much to anyone who has upvote this video.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71