Sailing in Southern Sweden

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

A sailboat entering Mölle harbor A tidy sloop motors past cottages and the Grand Hotel Mölle on the hill above

Boats and Sailors in Mölle

Boats in the harbor

It was good to be in a small harbor full of sailboats instead of the large commercial ports of Oslo orGothenburg. The sun seemed out to stay and brisk boat traffic gave the little port a lively feel. So many Danish sloops arrived that everyone had to get creative about mooring.

Visiting sailboats in Mölle harbor

I soon realized there were only a few places to eat in town. Besides my hotel and a two smaller places in the harbor, there was only the imposing Grand Hotel Mölle up on the hill. I reminded myself that I had chosen this place to write and relax. I had in mind to make some progress on my novel and make use of the research I had done in Svalbard. Writing would have to make way for photography in such a scenic place with such great light.

A Danish mermaid comes ashore in Sweden A Danish mermaid comes ashore in Sweden

Danish sailboats moored in Mölle

The Valkyrien The Valkyrien, a gaff-rigged ketch

The Valkyrien leaving port The Valkyrien leaving port under power and two red foresails

The Valkyrien at sea The Valkyrien silhouetted against a dark sea

Scandanavians silhouetted at dusk

The tiny balcony outside my room proved the perfect vantage point for shooting the harbor. I'm not a huge fan of sunsets but who was I to argue with this one?

The harbor at sunset The harbor at sunset


Did you see my Scandinavian travel posts?

Sweden

Norway & Svalbard

All of the content is original and the photos were taken by me.

I was traveling light. These images were taken with a small Samsung point-and-shoot camera or smartphone!

Thank you!

Nick

Sort:  

excellent pictures and beautiful landscapes for any holiday go good post success

Thanks, Valero and thank you for reblogging!

Hey amigo, how are you? As usual, you were in the right place, at the right time. Definitely the Nordic countries have a special color that makes them stand out. There is a cold and warm atmosphere at the same time. I liked everything, especially the mermaid hahaha... ;)

Hey Saúl! (@sabreu). Nice to hear from you! Well said about the cold and the warm. These photos were taken in September, which can begin as summer and end as winter in Scandinavia. I'm glad you liked la sirena. Estaba leyendo sobre su pais esta manana. Ojala que todo esta bien contigo.

Beautiful pictures^^

I'm glad you liked the pictures, @sunny97! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nkraft
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sailing-in-southern-sweden


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Too kind! :)

Hi @nkraft,
Thank you for participating in the #travelfeed curated tag. To maintain a level of quality on the project we have certain criteria that must be met for participation. Please review the following: https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@travelfeed/how-to-participate-use-travelfeed-in-your-posts
We require at least 250 words, but your post has only 222 words.
Thank you very much for your interest and we hope to read some great travel articles from you soon!
Regards, @travelfeed

Really? Busy told me I had 286 but I guess you don't count captions. Thanks anyway!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83