Swedish Ceramics Center and Food Hall

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Höganäs Saluhall kiln Historical ceramics production photos with kiln/showroom in the background

The Höganäs Saluhall - Art Galleries, Deli, and Buffet

I hitched a ride with a friendly and generous English couple who had come to Sweden by ferry with their car. Only a 15 or 20 minute drive from Mölle, Höganäs is a prominent ceramics center in Sweden, as well an industrial town. The Saluhall is a former kiln building that has been converted to ceramics, design and food shopping as well as a restaurant. The large cylindrical kilns are now showrooms for ceramics and interior design products. The buffet lunch included two main dishes, soup and bread and several fresh salads. I have my friends to thank for my visit to Höganäs since my bus would have bypassed this fascinating site.

The top floor gives access to the kiln roofs, which are both attractive and utilitarian

Earthenware, ceramics and wood work on display

Kiln/showroom opening and interior

Asian, African, and Scandinavian design elements

A handmade mobile sculpture that is possibly also a chandelier. Each leaf on this art piece was individual metal work.


Did you see my other recent Scandinavian travel posts?

Sweden

Norway & Svalbard

All of the content in my posts is original and the photos are Copyright © Nick Kraft.

I was traveling light. These images were taken with a small Samsung point-and-shoot camera or a smartphone!

Thank you!

Nick

Sort:  

Hello my dear good friend, I want to bring up (as always) the quality of your posts. Your pics are able to transport you to all the places you have visited and today is no different. Are you on Discord?

Thank you, @sabreu :) I'm on one Discord server support. Send me a link of the one you mean and I'll sign up.

a very interesting tour, works of good quality.
In the University I studied, during a semester a course titled Ceramic, I liked it a lot. I still have some of the pieces that I made

I'm glad it was of interest, @nayibe. Will you post photos of your work? :)

They are not of the level of those that there, are exhibited.
I would first have to visit my mother's house, then leave them there, when I went to live with my new family.
Remember that that was in my university time, for the years 1985, 1986, 1987.
But you give me a good idea, I think I'm interested in doing it.
Thanks for bringing memories to my mind.

You are very welcome. My first time in university covered some of those years also. Memories are certainly becoming more interesting. :)

Swedish Ceramics Center and Food Hall has been resteemed by @resteemmuse

Pictures of salads are preserved? :)

Hi John! I know, hahaha. I remember the food so vividly but I took no photos. Here's what I missed.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nkraft
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=swedish-ceramics-center-and-food-hall


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Trusty old Worldmap.

Wow.... I just want to say "Amazing"

all old thing have high artistic value

Interesting idea, Mahyudin. I have seen many old things with no artistic value, but I think I know what you mean. Thanks!

Sorry my english is not perfect

Not at all. Your English is fine Thank you for taking the time to learn it and write in English here. Bagaimanapun, saya berbicara bahasa Indonesia

Ah kamu bisa bahasa Indonesia. Terimakasih :)

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

smartsteem upvote in the amount of $33.53 STU, $45.07 USD.
promobot upvote in the amount of $17.75 STU, $23.85 USD.
upme upvote in the amount of $15.86 STU, $21.32 USD.

For a total calculated value of $67 STU, $90 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $17 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 37.63% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83